500

I couldn’t believe it when my last post published and the big 499 appeared next to it.

This is my 500th post.

I thought I would imagine streamers and confetti and a band and noise makers.  But truly it’s simply an ordinary day around here.

I take that back.  Our days are never ordinary.

As I thought about what to write on this momentous occasion I couldn’t help but smile at a conversation I had with Eli this week.  Spending time with him on Monday gave us a lot of time to talk and served as a good reminder to me of what a seeker of knowledge he is.

We recently watched The Miracle Worker about Helen Keller and Annie Sullivan.  We’ve been watching a lot more “real people” movies lately.  The boys really like them.

While in the car on the way to an appointment we discussed Helen and all of the troubles and triumphs she had.  We talked at length about how people didn’t believe in her but that Annie did.  I shared with him that sometimes that’s what my job is like.  I see young children and find the strengths people have either forgotten or didn’t know were there.  He got a clearer picture of what I do and told me that I really do have a cool job.

We got on a conversation about how differently all of the people were treated in the movie.  He noticed that the man was not very nice to the women.  He noticed that all of the “brown” people worked for the white people and they had to do all of the chores.

We talked a lot about slavery.  We talked about Harriet Tubman and the Underground Railroad and how there was a house in our city that was a part of that journey.  We talked about what it meant to be a slave and how slaves were treated.

We talked about women’s rights.  I shared how a woman who married a man had to listen to what her man said and sometimes didn’t get to talk.  She took care of the children and didn’t have a job.  He wondered aloud how that was different if a woman married another woman.  I explained in detail how that was NOT acceptable at all, ever.  I shared with him that even today that can’t happen everywhere.

He was quiet for a bit.  I asked what he was thinking.

People a long time ago were stupid mommy.  They were mean to other people and they were just too bossy.  I’m glad I wasn’t alive then.  I couldn’t have been mean like that.

I explained that fortunately a lot of other people felt like him a long time ago and fought to make all people free.

So women could marry women?

Yes.  And so men could marry men.  So all people could be free and treated equal and be happy.

But mommy why on earth would a man want to marry another man?!?!

** silent snicker to myself 😉 **

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 500

  1. Elastamom says:

    LMAO!!!!! I love the last line. That is tooo funny! *sigh* If only everyone thought like Eli.

Leave a Reply

