Random

Friday’s popcorn and movie night was cancelled due to a boy’s determination to put together his newest Lego set.

Saturday found us traveling to Michigan to visit IKEA.  We took an idea from Pinterest to create a Lego table for the boys.  We altered the idea to suit our own purposes.  Pictures to follow when everything is set up.

Sunday we attended a birthday party at the local ice skating rink.  We’ve known about it for a couple of weeks.  The party was for a friend of Eli’s – they’ve been friends since their first year of preschool!  We got the invite and slyly put it away.  We shopped for presents without the kids.  An hour before the party I pulled out crayons and paper and had them create birthday cards for their friend and informed them of the party.  There was no anxiety.  No crazy behavior.  Only excitement.  And oh the skating!  We haven’t gone since last year and the boys were both a bit leery.  No concerns though!  Keegan was a perfectionist like his mommy.  He was determined to get it but was frustrated when it didn’t go right.  Eli loved “flying”!  He got going faster and got the brightest smile on his face.

We shopped after skating for supplies for the Lego tables.  Thank you Toys R Us for having a buy one get one 1/2 off sale on all Lego items!  I ran into Michael’s to get model glue to help put the tables together too.  I tossed a yummy turkey dinner into the oven upon arriving home and proceeded to put together the tables.  The boys are so very excited to get these set up, as am I!  There is much sorting and cleaning and donating to be done before it can be finished.  Hopefully by next weekend 🙂

Today was the day of appointments.  Eli and I spent most of the day together and Keegan got to hang with my brother.  We left early for the eye doctor for his final progress evaluation.  I love this office because we never have to wait.  Except for today.  An emergency came in before us – someone had a stroke in their eye.  It had to be dealt with.  We waited for more than an hour.  Eli played a few games on my phone.  We talked and told funny stories to each other.  He got a little annoyed over having to wait but moved on from it quickly.  He called the doctor on it when we finally got into the room and the doctor handled it very well.  He was amazing – I was truly a proud mommy!  Then came the amazing news.  His eyes have improved dramatically, again.  He is within normal limits or well above in all of the areas we’ve been working on.  No more consistent vision therapy!!!  We will continue to have him play his DS game and a few other games we’ve found to challenge his eyes.  We go back in April for a full evaluation – a repeat of last year as well as a full vision check.  We are beyond excited!

Later today we traveled to the worry doctor.  It was time to figure out exactly how we can better help our worrier.  I shared all of our concerns with her and discussed all of the events with “B”.  She talked to me for a while just to catch up and then talked with Eli for a bit.  She has some concerns, the same as ours.  So, back to weekly therapy we go.  And I am grateful that we have someone so amazing on our side.  It will add a new something to our week again but I know it will be so worth it.

We ended the night with my guys doing amazing at karate and getting excited over an unusual evening at McDonald’s – mostly because the adults were craving Shamrock shakes…

It was an amazing, busy, totally fun weekend.  We laughed, we snuggled, we read and we had in-depth conversations about things like Helen Keller and slavery.  I love how inquisitive they are.  I’m thankful for them each and every day.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random

  1. Elastamom says:

    That sounds packed and fun-filled!!!

Leave a Reply

