A Week Of Love

Valentine’s day was amazing.

We awoke to enough blowing snow and slippery roads to give way to a 2 hour school delay.  Just the thing for a crazy party day!

The boys rushed down and fixed their own bowls of cereal.  They were too excited to wait for me.

While other moms were suiting their little ones up to go outside I was reading the cues of my littles and turned on Monster’s, Inc. for a little down time before our crazy day really began.  We giggled and snuggled and enjoyed our morning together.

I drove them to school because I promised I would.  Because it’s special and the day was all about special.  And, because it was a 2 hour delay and because I had promised to have lunch with my guys, I simply stayed the entire day at school!

I dropped Eli off at his room and moved to Keegan’s room to hang with him since his lunch is first.  He truly enjoyed having mom sit next to him during morning work and take care of him when getting ready for lunch.  We moved to the cafeteria together.  He smiled when he found the heart-shaped rice krispie treat in his lunch.  He put his head on my shoulder and gave me the grin – the one that says he’ll love me forever.  I got a quick hug before recess – enough to say I love you mom but don’t push it cuz’ loving your mom in front of the other kids just ain’t cool.

I moved around the building to Eli’s room.  I got there just in time to help him pass out his Valentine’s Day cards.  He was so unorganized.  He dumped several out on the floor and grabbed one at a time to put in boxes.  Of course all of the other children were roaming around doing the same thing.  It was a window into how his little brain works 🙂

I helped him prepare for lunch.  An entirely different experience from Keegan.  Eli is so much more independent.  So much more involved with his friends.  So very much more unorganized.  He wanted me with him at lunch.  I sat next to him and watched him be a full part of his circle of friends.  They planned their recess and laughed about things that are only silly to 7-year-old boys – or maybe all boys…  I got a smile and a wave before he left for recess because 1st graders are too cool to hug their moms in front of their friends.

I moved down the hall once again to Eli’s classroom.  I met a couple of other parents there and we prepared for the best of parties.  We had cookies and hot cocoa and heart bingo and shrinky dinks and love letters.  And I was so excited to share the time with my sweet hazel eyes.

I was thrilled to have him sit next to me and enjoy his hot cocoa and decorate his cookie.  I was scolded for not moving around the room him and was made to promise that any future parties would find me there for him alone.  Parent helper is just not cutting it.  It may not be cool to hug your mommy but it is cool to want them by your side.

When the party ended the other parents and I quickly loaded up all of our things and rushed to save the kindergarten party.  The parent planning that party was called into work last-minute and left the class without a party.  So we showered them with cookies and hot cocoa and shrinky dinks and love letters and book marks.  And I got a few snuggles on the sly from my blonde haired boy.

And then the day was done – at least the school day.  I drove them home with a couple of pit stops along the way.  We made heart-shaped pancakes for dinner because that’s what they wanted.

And we’re carrying it out through the week.  They know we love them.  Always.  There’s no sense in holding it to one day.

We’ve done something special everyday since then.  They are getting “me” days.  We are all happier and relaxing more.

We are currently avoiding talking about a birthday party coming up this weekend to alleviate some anxiety.  The worry doctor is scheduled for Monday, as is the (hopefully) final visit with the neuro-optometrist, save for our regular bi-annual checkups.

So we’re busy spreading the love around here.  Sending a little extra love your way.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Week Of Love

  1. Elastamom says:

    I’m so very glad you all felt the love this week. You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

