When Bad Things Happen

flashing lights fly past the window

ladder fire truck parks directly in front of the house

passengers exit rapidly

heart sinks, nose rises to the air

quick check – fire-place off, no smoke in the air – nope, not coming to my house

look again.  firefighters in uniforms not gear toting blue gloves.

they moved quickly toward “B’s” house across the street, several uniformed police join them.

another look shows 3 police cars in addition to the ladder truck.  no ambulance.

yet.

2 boys notice flashing lights.  1 see’s the uniforms enter the house.  panic strikes.  i have to go over there.  something must be wrong with “B”.  i have to check on him.

face pressed to glass.  worry encompassing sweet hazel eyes.  his friend is in trouble.  he must be.

time ticks slowly by.

ambulance arrives.  no lights or sirens.

one by one all vehicles leave.

worry persists.

mommy won’t let him go over to check.  he must wait until monday arrives and “B” gets on the bus…

or doesn’t…

an awful lot of worry for sweet hazel eyes.

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When Bad Things Happen

  1. Kate says:

    Yikes! I hope B is okay.

  2. Oh, that’s the worst! Waiting and wondering…

  3. Elastamom says:

    Oh my goodness! I hope B is ok!!!

Leave a Reply

