Creativity

I’m all about finding the most creative way to get things done.  Sometimes that means changing the way my boys do things that makes it more fun for them.  Call it reverse psychology if you must.  I simply call it doing whatever works!

A month or so ago, Eli’s OT told me about a DS game that was essentially a vision therapy program.  I looked it up on Amazon as she suggested.  Low and behold it was only $10!  I immediately clicked order.  Even if he hates it I’m only out 10 bucks!

That was 3 very long weeks ago.  I was beginning to believe that my order was lost in Russia or something and that I was going to have to contact Paypal to get my money back.  And then yesterday a package arrived from Air Canada.  No wonder it took so damn long!

I wondered about how to introduce this game to Eli.  I didn’t want him to get upset that we were turning his DS into a helpful learning tool.  I left the game sit on the table until I decided what to do.

I was cooking dinner when Eli walked into the kitchen.  He spotted the game – I believe it drew his gaze like a magnet draws metal.  He used his accelerating reading abilities to identify Flash Focus on the cover.  What’s this? were the next words out of his mouth.

So I told the truth and his eyes lit up.  I can play vision therapy on my DS instead of doing my computer work?  Well, you still have to finish your computer work – only a few more weeks – but then you can just do the DS game whenever you want!

Last night I sent a text to Eli’s OT.  He was doing vision therapy on his DS.  No complaints, no yelling, no tears.  Just pure joy.  I couldn’t have been more excited to see one of my boys playing a video game!  Added bonus that Keegan wants to do it too!

It’s amazing what a little creativity will do!  I’m so very thankful for all of the amazing people in our lives with the beautiful ability to think outside of the box.  I’m also incredibly grateful for the advancements in technology that give us so many more options to reach the same goal.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Creativity

  1. That is awesome! I’m so happy that you’ve found a new way to get things done (sans griping).

  2. Elastamom says:

    That is wonderful! I’m all for the DS. 🙂

  3. Kate Schwartz says:

    What game?

Leave a Reply

