Catching Up

Last week I took a break.  Apparently a much-needed break.

I didn’t read blogs.  I didn’t write here.  My computer time was minimal.

And it was good.

I was working on wrapping my head around so much.  I needed to focus.

I baked a cake – the final one for my first ever cake decorating class.  I got creative after realizing that there was no cake mix in the house the night I needed to bake my cake.  I improvised and used sugar-free container frosting to frost the cake.  I made my own frosting for the decorating.  I learned how to make roses – they were fun and surprisingly easy.  Now I look forward to fondant.

A certain young man in my life is having a birthday in just a little over 2 months.  That means the party is coming in about 1-1/2 months.  Thank you to those who lead me to Pinterest!!!  I have so many amazing party ideas that will cost me practically nothing.  And I’ll make the cake and decorate it.  It will be awesome and I won’t be in the poor house.

I have been working on a resume.  I’m not leaving the agency I work for.  I don’t think I ever could.  I love all that they stand for.  They are truly amazing.  I recently graduated from the management program I’ve been in for the past year plus.  It was a lot of work and tested me in many ways.  It was a fantastic learning experience.  Now I hope to be able to apply it.  So on to the resume writing board I go.

I listened to stories as read by the two bright guys in my life.  They have both come so far.  I was delighted to read Eli’s report card that stated he is at the reading level now that the teacher is looking for the entire class to get to by the end of the school year.  It’s amazing all of the progress he’s made with vision therapy.  I will never regret our decision to pursue this.  His report card showed an increase in every area tested.  Keegan was showing delightful progress as well.  He achieved high scores in every area.  He simply needs to improve his confidence in the classroom.  He is not his brother.  He is so much more soft-spoken and reserved.  But it’s so beautiful to see him come into his own.

I read for me as well.  The Help finally became available to loan from the library and I downloaded it for my Kindle.  I dove into it and have become immersed in this amazing story.  I look forward to finishing it and seeing the magic of the movie.

So I’m back.  I’m excited to catch up with all of you.  Have a wonderful, joyous week!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Catching Up

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    That’s wonderful news about the boys and how well they are doing in school. I love hearing all about Eli’s progress, and how much the vision therapy helped him.

    I can’t wait to hear more about the birthday plans.

    I’m glad you took the time off that you needed. I bet that really helped you to center and refocus.

    Thank you for being such a good friend, and for all of your continued support. You mean so much to me!

  2. Welcome back! It sounds like a productive break!

  3. Elastamom says:

    I’m glad you’re back!!! Sometimes a break is needed!!

  4. It DOES help to back away sometimes, doesn’t it!

    Pinterest… much more addicting to me than Facebook.

Leave a Reply

