One

The dollar amount I spent on a morning filled with fun.

I love to browse  the dollar bins at Target.  That store can suck me in like no other.

They are prepping for Valentine’s Day around there.  Woohoo for me!

The dollar bins were covered in bright pink, deep red, crisp white.  But one stood out.  A polka-dotted, magnetic picture frame filled with small magnetic words.  My honey snatched it up with a gleam in her eyes.  I bet the boys will love this.

I opened the package yesterday and put the magnets on the fridge.  I didn’t say anything to anyone.  I only placed the words at eye level to the little people of the house.

Today they were discovered.  And oh, the fun they brought.

Keegan went to the fridge for a drink and was sidetracked when he noticed the words.  He started reading the ones he knew and worked on sounding out the ones he didn’t.  Then he put I. Love. You. together.  He searched for mom and didn’t find it.  He wrote I. Like. You. Love. Me.

And then the real fun started.  We made all sorts of silly sentences with the limited vocabulary that we had to work with.  Please. Kiss. Me. On. My. Smile.

We laughed, we giggled, we shared hugs and kisses.

All over a dollar.

I’ll be looking for new words.

In the mean time I am thrilled by the fact that Keegan is excited about making sentences and reading the words.  Who says you can’t have fun when you learn?!?!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Aww, that’s precious!
    I have been having serious problems with that dollar bin lately. All of those one dollars add up quickly, if one goes to Target at least once a week.

  2. I love this story! In our old house, we had those magnetic words, and hubs and I would leave messages for each other. It was so much fun!

  3. Elastamom says:

    I love this too! That $1 bin gets me every time!!!

Leave a Reply

