Patience

I am an overachiever.

I know, shocker.  Right?

If I’m going to do something I do it all or nothing.  I don’t half ass anything.  I can’t.

This cake decorating class is important to me.  I want to continue to make memories for my boys.  No half-assing.

I baked a cake.  It didn’t rise like expected so I baked another.  The two together made a lovely cake.

I needed a filler.  Pudding would be fine but not great.  Homemade Bavarian Cream would work so much better.  So out came the vanilla bean, the heavy cream, the utmost patience.  Making pudding from scratch is a rather tedious task.

I made homemade buttercream frosting that I may as well have slathered directly to my ass.

Tonight I put the whole thing together.  And it was good.  Therapeutic even.

Could I do this every day, multiple times a day?  Oh Hell No!  But this every now and again gig?  This I can do and find a smile at the end of it.  A smile for me and for my boys.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Patience

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    That’s a great cake! I have decorated a few cakes for the kids’ birthdays and it is a lot of fun, but a lot of work! I’m jealous of you taking the decorating class but can’t wait to see more pictures of cakes!

  2. Throw first cake in trash. Drive to Dairy Queen and get an ice cream cake.

    Love,
    Queen of Half-Assed

  3. Elastamom says:

    That is awesome, Heather! I lke TKW’s idea though too.

  4. Patty says:

    I love this cake! And I think your kids will remember this stuff–how their mom slaved over a cake for them–for years to come. At least I hope that’s what MY kids remember about all the cakes I make for them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

