Separation Anxiety

My honey and I decided to do something extra special for ourselves for Christmas this year.

Typically Christmas at our house it about the boys.  Sure we exchange gifts but it’s usually something small, something sweet, something thoughtful.  We still did that this year.  I got her fuzzy Snoopy socks and a calendar I made with the help of a drastically cheap Groupon.  She got me a lovely bracelet and took the boys shopping to get me ornaments.

This year, though, we agreed to do a little more.  We took money from my mileage check which was earmarked completely for Christmas shopping.  We added $20 in Santa Bucks from Meijer and got ourselves a deal on a Kindle Fire.

In true Christmas style, we wrapped it up and put it under the tree for us to open on Christmas morning.  It was fun to open and know we could finally play with it :).

We set it up and went to work downloading free books from Amazon.  It freaked my honey out a little the next morning when we had a dozen emails from Amazon regarding our “recent purchase”.

Since that day we have been in the bliss that is Kindle.  We have even been pretty good about sharing even!

As a result of registering our Kindle we got a free month of Amazon Prime.  Ordinarily I wouldn’t care about this but with a Kindle comes 1 book a month free rental.  I decided to dive into the Hunger Games series.

Let me start by saying I am long overdue for jumping on this bandwagon!  I will be spending the money to buy these books.  The boys will love them when they are older!  I can hardly wait for the movie coming out this spring!

Anyway…  I downloaded book 1 a few days after Christmas.  It was spellbinding from the get go and I read it in a matter of days.  Fortunately it was enough days to get me through to January 1st when I was able to rent another book for free.  I downloaded book 2 and was equally as enthralled.

I finished book 2 over the weekend.  And then I was stuck.  No more free Amazon rental until February – and not even then since I will NOT be forking over the megabucks they want for 1 free book a month…  Anyway I let my fingers quickly do the walking to my local library’s web page to get book 3.

WHAM…

Book 3 is not available for download loan.  Period.  Shit.  And a major waiting list for the book.

Here comes my brother to the rescue.  He owns the books.  LOVES the books.  Loaned me book 3.  Thank you, thank you, thank you dear brother.

And so I’ve been reading.  And it’s so not the same.

Hello, my name is Heather and I’m addicted to Kindle.

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m loving the book regardless of the format.  But I’m finding that I actually was reading faster with the Kindle.  It was so much easier to pick it up and read a page or two while waiting for water to boil or bath water to run.  I don’t typically bring books into the kitchen and I only occasionally read while taking a bath.  The Kindle fits in my purse for easy reading while waiting at the doctor’s office.

So I’m working on cruising through book 3 and heading quickly back to the other book I started prior to Kindle so that I may once again return to the comfort of the page swipe of my Kindle.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Separation Anxiety

  1. Elastamom says:

    I love my Kindle too. Email me and I’ll send you some websites where I get books. 🙂 I’ll forget if you don’t email me!!!

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    Yeah, you got a Kindle!!

    I’ll have to start reading The Hunger Games soon. Caleb loves the book and can’t wait for the movie. I always have to read the book before I see the movie, so I better get started!

Leave a Reply

