For Me

Every year at Christmas I struggle.  People close to me ask what I want for Christmas.  What gift can they get for me that I wouldn’t get or hadn’t already gotten for myself.

Every year I find difficulty answering that question.

This year I had an answer.

One thing.  One thing that I hadn’t already gotten for myself.  One thing that I wasn’t going to get for myself.  One thing.

This year I wanted cake decorating classes.

For the past year I have made the cakes that help us to celebrate the boys birthdays.  Eli started the tradition by asking me to make him a Lego cake.  He didn’t want one from a store.  He wanted a special one that only mommy could make.  I beat my head against a wall for weeks and questioning friends on just how to make this cake.  One late night with a couple of good friends we came up with this:

It was adored by a little 6-year-old and all of his friends.  Mom rocked out the birthday cake and was forever granted the privilege being official birthday cake maker.

When Keegan’s birthday rolled around it was just understood that I would make his cake too.  He started making request well in advance.  It was all the hype.  I gotta admit that I felt like one proud mommy that my boys wanted ME to make their cake.  ME to make their day that much more special.  Keegan had 2 parties – a friend party and a family party.  Therefore he got 2 cakes.  Oh what fun I had!

Once again a very thrilled birthday boy.

Finally Eli’s birthday this year.  A repeat of mommy I want *you* to make my cake for me.  Easy enough when he asks for a pirate coin to be made for him.  Once again creativity had to take over and once again I thought and thought about how to make this cake look like a coin.  I was starting to feel like I was running out of my resources but pushed through anyway and came up with this:

He loved it.  So much that I had to make him one for his family party and one for his party with his friend.  To see that smile I’d do most anything.

Keegan immediately started talking about his next birthday cake and placing challenge after challenge on the table.  Thank goodness his birthday isn’t until April!  Either way I knew I was in trouble.

I stood in the kitchen one day in late October and told my honey to tell everyone that I wanted cake decorating classes for Christmas.  Nothing else I desired.  Cake decorating classes.

And my in-laws listened.  They graciously gave me money for a class and my honey talked to a friend to find out the best place to take the class.  And so last week I did it.

I walked into Michael’s and signed up for a class.  And it was 1/2 price so I get to take 2 classes!!!  I’m so insanely excited!  My first class was last week.  We learned how to make stars with that tip and I decorated cookies that I brought in.  I’d love to show you pictures but the cookies were too rapidly devoured.  Frosting makes everything taste better!

This week I get to learn how to put filling in a cake, frost the cake and then decorate it.  Just in time for the boys to have a Karate belt test celebration on Friday!!!  I’m learning so many little tricks of the trade that will make this decorating gig my boys have hired me for so much simpler!

So, look for a post later this week or early next.  I promise to photograph my first official “graded” cake!

I love the gifts that just keep on giving!  Thanks again to my wonderful in-laws for their kindness and generosity.  I’m loving every single minute!

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For Me

  1. Patty says:

    I love your cakes! My husband and I have always made our kids’ cakes, partly because it’s cheaper, but partly because it’s so much fun. Still, I’m with you–my skills are being seriously challenged and I would LOVE to take a class! If only a class were offered anywhere around here. Good for you, for asking for what you want! I can’t wait to see your upcoming creations!

  2. Kate says:

    Experiences make the best presents.

  3. I am a terrible baker, so I’m impressed with your efforts!

  4. Elastamom says:

    That is so wonderful. It seems like it will be the perfect gift for you!!!

Leave a Reply

