Checking Up

In the middle of all of the crazy before Christmas, I was crazy enough to schedule a follow-up with the eye doctor for Eli.  The day before Christmas Eve.  Yes, crazy.

Luck of the Irish found Keegan at Nana and Papa’s for a few hours and the appointment moments after my honey gets off of work and she works around the corner.  So, both of us got to take Eli to the doctor.  Always better when we outnumber him at an appointment he is nervous about.

We waited for what seemed like hours for the doctor.  Eli occupied himself with some of the toys in the waiting area for a bit but then started asking the front desk ladies when he was going to go see the doctor.  Fortunately they all know him and his personality and took it with a grain of salt and a giggle and a smile.

Finally we were called back.  Eli waited somewhat patiently by asking all sorts of questions related to the poster on the wall of eye diseases and eye issues.  Boy did I learn a lot about a lot of really gross things.

Finally the doctor came in.  He started his exam and Eli was more cooperative than I have ever seen him.  He listened well and followed all directions.

In the end…

He is better.  Almost all better.  His eyes are doing everything the doctor was hoping they would do.  We are continuing to do the computer and cards everyday for another 2 months to truly imprint these tasks into his brain and they become 100% second nature.  That he doesn’t have to stop and think about using his eyes at all.

The reward?  His reading is so much better.  He started reading a Diary of the Wimpy Kid book that he got for Christmas.  He came home today with a true chapter book because he moved up a couple of levels in his reading at school.  He is reading everything.  I mean E.V.E.R.Y.T.H.I.N.G.

Gone officially are the days of spelling things out that we don’t want him to hear or sending a text in front of him that says something we don’t want him to know.  I have even found I need to be a little careful about the books I’m reading in front of him as I find him reading over my shoulder and asking questions.  Fortunately I’m reading The Hunger Games series and Inheritance – all books that are somewhat child friendly (i.e. no bad words).

It’s so very exciting around here.  We are celebrating the major achievements of his reading and looking forward to the reading that Keegan will begin doing more of later this month.  It’s beautiful to see them wanting to read and enjoying it.  They got Barnes and Noble gift cards for Christmas and couldn’t wait to spend them!

Yes, excitement is in the air and 2012 is looking up indeed.  Likely there will be lots of reading posts in the year ahead of us.  I’m looking forward to reading more and more with both of my boys.  And we got a most wonderful gift of a Kindle Fire for Christmas so all the more reading we all will do!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Checking Up

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    That’s wonderful news! I’m so happy for all of you, but especially Eli!

    P.S. That New Year’s Resolution sounds great! We’ll have to make plans soon!

  2. Elastamom says:

    Yippeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

