Stress and Relaxation

Happy New Year to you all!

We survived the holiday.  Barely, but survived nonetheless.

Things got truly out of hand after my last post.  I got stressed getting ready for the holiday and all of the friends and family to join us in our home.  Eli got stressed from all of the lack of structure and my stressors.  Introduce a nuclear meltdown by all parties involved.

I may have yelled at some point that my Christmas was being ruined.  MY Christmas…  I was ashamed then and remain ashamed now.  I apologized profusely.  Bottom line?  I was stressed and needed to smack myself out of it.  That did the job, folks.  I was a much better girl from that moment on.

Christmas went off without a hitch.  Everyone enjoyed themselves and we all ate like there was no tomorrow.  Santa came and delivered well.  Worst part of it all?  Keegan does not do well without a full night of sleep.  He went to bed really late on Christmas Eve and was awakened early by his very excited older brother on Christmas Day.  He opened his new Nintendo DS from Santa and cried.  He was upset that he didn’t know how to work it…  Fortunately the day went WAY up from there.

I was off with the boys for the entire week between Christmas and New Year’s.  We had a blast.  My brother got a Kinect for his XBox and we partied hardy on it.  Lot’s of Fruit Ninja and Kinect Adventures.  My arms and shoulders are insanely sore, as is my face from all the laughing!  We played Wii, they played DS and then we spent time with good, ole’ fashioned board games.  We introduced Battleship to the boys and played the new Monopoly game with the cash machine.  Loads of fun and laughs!

New Year’s Eve was spent at home with just the family.  I truly love it that way.  I love bringing in the new year with the ones I love.  We played more Kinect and Just Dance for Wii.  We ate WAY too much Chinese food.  The boys made dirt sundaes and we had banana splits.  Good food, good laughs, a ball drop with Ryan Seacrest and you’ve got yourself a rockin’ New Year!

Tomorrow is back to normal – whatever that happens to be.  And boy do we need it.  We all strive on structure and routine around here.  So I’m back here for a daily dose of the crazy that is our lives.  Missed you all and look forward to continuing to hang out with you all in 2012!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stress and Relaxation

  1. Happy New Year! We got a Kinect for Christmas, too. It’s been such a fun family activity. The girls start back to school tomorrow and boy, I think it’s going to be a rough go in the morning!

Leave a Reply

