Tradition: Music

I am a Black Friday shopper.  Some think me crazy but truly I love it!  I go as much for the people as I do for the deals.  I’m talking about the great people, those with holiday cheer out to have a good time.  Not the psycho Walmart shoppers fighting over $2 towels.  I enjoy myself wholeheartedly.  Black Friday begins my Christmas Music tradition.

As I travel the roads in the very late or very early hours I tune to 101.5 The River for ’round the clock Christmas music.  From that moment on my car radio knows nothing but Christmas music until the season is over.

My honey finds me something of a freak when it comes to Christmas music.  I have come across 1 song in many years that I DON’T know any words to.  I know the chorus and at least some words to all other songs.  I know the entire first verse and chorus to most of the songs.  I know multiple verses to many songs.  We’re talking hundreds of songs here people!

In my memory there was always a Reader’s Digest Christmas Songbook present.  Someone played the piano – mom, aunt Sarah, Granny… someone.  Everyone sang along – often in harmony.  In my mind it was always beautiful – though I know that can’t be true 😉

Today that very songbook sits on my piano.  I pulled it out just yesterday and filled the house with piano music.  I built memories for my boys as they sang along side me any of the songs they knew.  I introduced new songs to them.  Keegan merrily sang Santa Claus is Coming to Town over and over as long as I would keep playing it.  Eli was thrilled at being able to read the words to Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer.

And so tradition continues.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tradition: Music

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    I love this post Heather, and what a beautiful tradition!

  2. Elastamom says:

    I didn’t know you play piano!!!! I just got my Christmas piano music out and the boys are playing too. Love it!

Leave a Reply

