Tis The Season

Despite Mother Nature’s cruel joke of rain, rain and more rain, it is, in fact, December.

My all time favorite month.

I. LOVE. CHRISTMAS!!!

I wanted to deck the halls yesterday.  The emotional meltdown of my oldest child combined with my eventual emotional meltdown did not make that possible.

Today I got my Christmas on!

Cue Pandora Christmas channel…

I know I drove my honey completely nuts.  She knows I go completely insane a little crazy this time of the year.  She tolerates me and I love her for that!

The totes were popped open.  The polish and dust rag were ready in hand.  It wasn’t long before the lemony fresh scent filled the air.  Photos and knickknacks that sit out all year long were carefully boxed up for the month.  The sights of Christmas began to take over the room.

The Native American nativity scene I pined over for months and have treasured for years.  The ice skating mice my brother and sister got me for Christmas many, many years ago.  Various holiday candles.  Train stocking holders just right for four stockings to hang from.  Christmas door hanger hung on the front door.  Icicle lights hung over the porch and garage while the rain came pouring down.  Plans to go hunting for a Christmas tree next weekend.

Finally…  The Elf on the Shelf.

Now…  I must admit that we do not have “the official” Elf on the Shelf.  I got an elf stocking holder a couple of years ago during a gift exchange.  When the boys saw it they started talking about the Elf on the Shelf they had heard about in preschool.  He was instantly adopted as our official elf.  Half the fun is the hunt for him each morning.  But the behavior has changed.  Santa is watching.

I found my happy.  I’m ready to tackle most anything.  Eli has found his happy.  That makes things all the better.

I’m looking forward to this week.  A book fair is at school and the boys are itching to get some new books.  I love that they can hardly wait to go.  I love that Eli is all about getting a  new Bad Kitty book.  He’s working so hard on reading and doing so very well.

Now, if only Mother Nature would bless me with just enough snow to put me in the mood to see the lights at the zoo 😉

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tis The Season

  1. Elastamom says:

    I love Christmas too and just can’t get enough of it!!! Glad you got into the swing of things.

  2. Kate says:

    snow? what’s that? Seriously our cold snap has put me more in the mood for Christmas. And even though I’ve done it a bunch of times, putting up a tree in shorts isn’t quite right. Hot cocoa and warm cookies are better in the cold.
    Merry December!

Leave a Reply

