The Challenge

Not long ago I posted that Eli was upset that math at school was too easy.  We had a long discussion with his teacher during parent/teacher conferences.  We came up with a plan to challenge him.

Yesterday the plan started.

Eli brought home a math packet that is second grade math.  He can choose whether or not to do it.  It’s due by Friday.  We are kind of making the choice for him that it’s not a choice.  He needs the challenge, is craving the challenge.

He came home from school today excited because he did second grade math during school and no other kid in his class did.  He got to add 10’s.  I wish I could accurately describe the glimmer in his eyes when he was telling me about it.  Not long after, we ventured into the kitchen to start work on the packet he brought home yesterday.

I will be honest here and admit that some of the problems I really had to stop and think about some of the problems that he was doing.  Listen, it’s been awhile since I’ve done any math, patterns, etc.  But Eli?  He flew through the first page like it was nothing.  3 pages to go before Friday.

Perhaps second grade math isn’t going to be high enough…

It’s exciting to see him excelling at something that he loves so very much.  It’s exciting to see him realizing that he’s doing things other kids aren’t yet doing.  Little by little we’re working our way toward his full potential.  As he is ready and feeling confident he is asking for more, more, more.  Don’t get me wrong, we still have our ups and downs at home and at school.  There are still other challenges and hurdles.  But, this mommy couldn’t be more proud of where this sweet boy is going.  He’s not only found his strength but is finding peace in that.

I am truly amazed at all that he has accomplished this year and all that he continues to pursue.  I can’t help but look forward to all that 2012 will bring for him.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Challenge

  1. debbi henry says:

    That’s wonderful news Heather. I’m so glad to hear that he is doing so well and feeling so good about himself!

  2. Elastamom says:

    That is awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

