Dance Magic Dance

We’re dancing around here.  The happiest of dances.  Why you may ask?

I may tear up as I write this.

We had our final…  I repeat F.I.N.A.L visit with the vision therapist today.  Eli has officially graduated from weekly vision therapy!!!  He saw the doctor today and we were given the results of the testing completed last week that was a repeat of the testing completed in May of this year.  All of his eye movements have moved to within the normal limits.  His eyes are moving together.  His eyes are reading the way that they should be.  His reading level was tested and matched what we were told at conferences by his teacher.  Bottom line???  The hard work, tears, yelling, crying, screaming, fit throwing, hugging, begging finally, finally paid off.

My sweet 7-year-old boy has working eyes and can finally learn to the very best of his abilities.

The future?  We follow-up with the doctor again in one month.  Between now and then we continue to do at home activities – some daily, some periodically throughout the week.  At the December appointment his vision will be reevaluated with new home activities assigned and frequency reduced.  The next and final evaluation will be in February.

For now we are all about celebrating the fact that we survived and conquered the 22 weeks of weekly therapy.  And, we are thanking all of you.  You have come here often to offer your support.  You held our hands when we were making this difficult decision.  We couldn’t have made it through this without all of you out there ready and willing to listen to our struggles and rejoice in our triumphs.

So, get your Linus, your Snoopy, your Pigpen on and dance the night away with us.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dance Magic Dance

  1. Kate says:

    Hooray!

    I was thinking of you today as I explained to my girl how my sister’s eye’s work. One is stronger than the other. I cannot imagine how much work her eye does to compensate, or how much her depth perception and tracking ability would have been improved if just this kind of therapy existed back then. (She did get the top of the line therapies at the time, which involved driving an hour and a half each way for a while, bless my mom.) Just thinking about how wonderful scientific advancements are.

  2. Patty says:

    This is fantastic news!

Leave a Reply

