Wrapping Up

Oh what a weekend this was.  I’ll be relatively brief because in some cases, well you just simply do NOT want to know the details.

I caught a cold/sinus infection.  Not enough to keep me down but most certainly enough to beg for someone, anyone to just chop off my head.  After all, what do I really need it for?

The kids were off the hook.  I’m pretty certain the upcoming holiday and days off of school have them itching at the seams.  Either way, they truly tested my patience.  Fortunately it was nice enough outside that I could send them out for some much-needed running and playing.

This one gets a little crazy so try to keep up…  My honey’s cousin’s wife’s mom (got that???) passed away a couple of months ago.  She had a severe stroke several years ago and the effects of that were finally too much for her body to take.  We have a tradition in our family that the entire family gets together every Christmas.  We rotate who’s hosting the family Christmas.  This year was to be hosted by my honey’s cousin and wife.  Yesterday they asked if we would be willing to host.  We were planning to offer when we all got together for Thanksgiving.  Next year would have been our year anyway.  I am thankful that we are able to help them out in this way.  It takes so much planning and cleaning and stress off of them.  On our part it started the roller coaster heading uphill.  The planning and preparation start now leading up to Christmas Eve night.  I am certainly excited but am making lists left and right in preparation.  My heart and my prayers go out to their entire family as they travel through this first holiday season without this amazing and dear woman.

As old man winter is beginning to rear his not so attractive mug we must make changes to accommodate.  We moved the mini trampoline from the backyard to the basement today.  By mini I mean 6 feet in diameter.  It was cause for a lot of cleaning and a bit of rearranging.  I’m certain there were enough dust bunnies to create yet another puppy for our household.  I know that I don’t clean down there as often as I should but geesh!  I took the liberty of not only giving the boys a place to get the wiggles out when they are no longer able to go outside consistently but preparing the space for the multiple children who will grant us their innocent joy come Christmas Eve.

** Disclaimer…  Do NOT read this paragraph if you do not want to hear about poop.  Simply scroll down to the next paragraph.**  This weekend revolved a lot around poop.  In some cases way too much and in others not enough.  Cleaning dog poop from the back yard is always a way too much event.  Sadly, one of my guys was in a not enough phase.  Explaining constipation to a child is a very difficult matter.  It’s also difficult to explain that you still have to try to go, even if it hurts.  Fortunately the poop came.  Hopefully it will continue to come.

Finally the dilemma.  I won some Christmas Cards from Shutterfly from my dear friend over at Elastamom’s Excerpts.  25 cards to be exact.  I had an issue with Shutterfly several years ago and swore them off.  However, the word *free* has always had a tendency to persuade me.  Then, lo and behold, I found a $20 gift card to Shutterfly that apparently came with my Adobe Photoshop software I bought last Christmas for myself.  I likely wrote it off last year because of my negative experiences.  My laptop crashed this summer and I have been working on installing the necessary things on the new laptop.  Photoshop was one of them and the gift card was in the box.  So, now I have more incentive than ever to go back to Shutterfly and they have some amazing layouts this year.  The dilemma???  I have no photo!  We try to get a family picture for cards every year.  We have yet to do that this year.  The only family picture I have of us is from April at CoAmerica Park in Detroit.  Not good enough!  So…  It is my goal to get a picture sometime this week since cards are on sale and I can make my $$ go a little further.

All that in the span of a couple of days.  Depending on the way this week presents itself I may be rather sparse.  I send my Thanksgiving wishes out to all of you now.  I am thankful that you all are with me on this crazy ride.  It has truly been a delight for me to get to know each and every one of you.  I wish you peace and joy with your families this holiday.  Hugs and Kisses to all.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wrapping Up

  1. Sounds busy! I’m in the process of trying to find a suitable photo for holiday cards, too! It’s nerve-wracking.

  2. Elastamom says:

    I’m glad you’re trying Shutterfly again…I have always had good luck with them. My kids are all out of whack too with the time change, the no-school days, the holidays and Christmas anticipation.

  3. debbi henry says:

    You sure did have a busy weekend. I think we are entering that time of year when the going never stops…Good luck getting a picture for the Christmas cards. I can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

