Just Relax

I mentioned several posts ago that I was on a new workout regiment.  I committed myself to the YMCA for 4 hours a week.  Little did I realize how crazy that 4 hours would make my daily schedule!

I must say that it’s all worth it.  I am enjoying myself and I feel good (or at least I will when my muscles stop screaming at me with every move…).

3 times a week I participate in an extensive cardio workout in the pool.  I never thought I could sweat in the pool…

The remaining hour of the week is devoted to yoga.  I went in for the strengthening.  I was reminded of the relaxation.

Our class is supposed to last for 45 minutes.  We go solid for 45 minutes and relax for 15 minutes.  I’m talking lights down low, soothing music, lavender aroma, clear your mind kind of relaxing.

Hmmmm…  Turn my overactive brain off???  I don’t recall reading that in the description.  My brain is screaming at me to think, remember, make a list.  Anything but be silent.

Tonight I pushed myself to try.  And I succeeded for at least 5 minutes of the relaxation portion.

What I realized is that I nearly fell asleep.  Apparently when my brain is told to be quiet it thinks it’s time to shut my body down too.  And I realized how very little I stop to just relax.

So now, more than ever, I look forward to my Monday nights where I get my Zen on, find my Chi, enhance my calm.

Do you relax?  REALLY relax?  How do you do it?

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just Relax

  1. Good for you! I need to get my arse to the gym–it’s wiggling like a flan. 😦

    I got a massage a few months ago and fell asleep on the table! I was so embarrassed.

  2. debbi henry says:

    That yoga class sounds great. I don’t relax until I am in bed and my book is falling on my face. Even then, I fight it and try to read more. Then, when I wake in the middle of the night and try to go back to sleep, my mind starts spinning. I really wish I knew how to relax!

  3. Elastamom says:

    I have a hard time relaxing and shutting my mind off too. I’m glad you’re doing this for yourself…you deserve it!

  4. I am really impressed with the four hours a week commitment. The three hours of cardio. . . holy crap!

    I’d love to do the yoga. I don’t have any great secrets about how to tell your brain to shut up except that if you SAY the words breathe in… breathe out… as you do it, I find it does help keep the mind from wandering off to other places.

    Give yourself an Atta Girl!!!!

Leave a Reply

