Reality Check

Anyone living in my house knows that doing vision therapy with Eli is often equivalent to pulling out fingernails with tweezers.  There is crying and arguing and pleading and begging on the part of everyone involved.  It’s often a miserable event.

It was rough in the beginning but got better over time.  Now that we are nearing the end it is getting rough again.  The skills he is working on are getting harder and harder for him to so.  I can’t do many of them.

In the wee small hours of the morning on Thursday of last week my honey and I awoke to Keegan wheezing and coughing in the hallway.  His Reactive Airway Disease was acting up.  He wasn’t at the scary point yet but I was certainly grateful for the box of Albuterol in the medicine closet.  He got a breathing treatment and slept in my bed next to me for the remainder of the night so that I could hear him breathing.

We awoke again – this time at the normal getting up time.  We did another breathing treatment.  We did the best we could to make sure Keegan could breathe and get to his field trip at school that day.  Of course, he saw the doctor later that day and added an oral steroid to his mix and is doing much better.

While getting ready for work that morning Eli joined me in the bathroom to chat.

Mommy, which is worse… Vision therapy or Breathing treatments?

Well, you can still see if you don’t do vision therapy.  Vision therapy is to help your eyes work better so that things like reading are easier for you.  Keegan does breathing treatments because he can’t breathe.  If he doesn’t do them he could end up in the hospital.

Wow…  So breathing treatments really are worse…  I guess I should stop complaining…

Keegan, I’m sorry you have to do breathing treatments – I hope you breathe better really soon!

I won’t say that doing therapy since then has been a breeze.  But, then, neither have breathing treatments.  What I can say is that there is a new perspective.  A better understanding of how small this can be.  And hopefully, sometime in the forseeable future, we will be done with both.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reality Check

  1. debbi henry says:

    What a sweet boy he is, and a supportive brother. Hopefully things will smooth out for you guys soon.

  2. Elastamom says:

    That is too cute. I think breathing treatments are worse too!!!

Leave a Reply

