The Return

Things have been a little off here lately.

Eli hasn’t been acting right.

It is October and that seems to be the time for things to get crazy for him.

We’ve been trying to talk him through this.  We’ve been trying to slow down a little to help him out.

A few nights ago something changed.

Mama, I want to go back to the worry doctor.  I have a worry.

Ok buddy, we can do that.  We’ll schedule it as soon as we can.  But you know you can talk to us, right?  We can help you through your worries too.

I talked to Mrs. H – she’s kinda like the worry doctor at school.  But, I still have a worry.

Will you tell me?

Will our house burn down?  How easy could we have a house fire?  What if the fire starts while we’re sleeping?  What if all my Legos burn?

The list went on and on.  October is the time for studying fire safety at school.  There have been escape routes drawn out.  Fire drills being practiced.  Firemen coming to school to talk about being safe.  Enough information to freak out my anxiety ridden little man.

Tonight it was Mommy, will we ever run out of water?

Likely a commercial on tv or the discussion of the new water tower being built in town or an innocent comment like turn the faucet off so you don’t waste water.  Who knows what got his wheels turning.

The beauty?

That he actually asked to go to the worry doctor.

Even more precious?

That we worked it out together.

Sure we always have her number handy, just in case.  But, I love that she armed all of us with some incredibly helpful tactics.  I love that this time around they are working.

So, the worries have returned.  The worries are making life a little difficult right now.  The worries are slowing us down.

The worries will not stop him.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Return

  1. Definitely a victory for all of you. xo

  2. Elastamom says:

    Look how he’s growing up! Awesome! That had to make you feel so good. 🙂 And him too!!!

  3. debbi henry says:

    Those worries will not stop him, not with all of the good things he has going for him. Great family, good doctors, and good strategies for dealing with his worries, are all the supports he needs to keep making great progress!

Leave a Reply

