Brothers?

Once upon a time, not so long ago, I posted about the new addition to our family.

This little guy:

Well, this little guy has now become this guy:


He’s still growing in size and in our hearts.

He is best friend and worst enemy to this guy:

The two together have shown us that we did not adopt a dog but another child in our house.

If Wicket is laying calmly, quietly on the floor chewing on his bone or favorite toy, Keegan will sneak up behind him and grab him.  Wicket gets all flustered and starts barking and chasing Keegan around the house.

Likewise, if Keegan is laying on the couch reading a book or watching a movie, Wicket will move slowly and quietly over to the couch, jump up and start tugging on Keegan’s clothes and barking and growling.  Keegan gets off the couch and they battle in the middle of the living room.  Usually this battle ends with Keegan running around the house and Wicket chasing him.

The boys had an extra day off of school this week and my honey was able to take that day off.  So, they made a long weekend of things and headed north to the cabin.  Because I was staying home due to work I kept the dog with me.  A break from the Keegan/Wicket show was on both of our agendas!

And it worked.

It was so calm, so quiet.  No yelling at the boy and the dog to stop pestering each other.  No constant time outs for the dog and push-ups for the boy.  No holes in shirts from constant battles.

Downside?

Both boy and dog were extremely depressed and lost without one another.  Keegan was homesick.  He came close to crying to come home.  He missed his dog.  Wicket followed me around the house.  He constantly checked Keegan’s room to see if he was home.  He stood on his hind legs to peer over the edge of the bed to see if he was just sleeping all day.

They have become a family.  They fight like brothers.  They play like friends.  They would protect each other through thick and thin.

This boy has a dog and this dog has a boy.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brothers?

  1. So precious! A boy and his dog–what could be finer?

  2. Elastamom says:

    This is wonderful and so cute. Reminds me of My Dog Skip. I have to stop now before I break down into uncontrollable sobs.

  3. Debbi Henry says:

    How precious is this? I love those pictures and can’t believe how much Wicket has grown!
    P.S. I love how you call Keegan Wicket’s boy. I always call Caleb Cabela’s boy.

Leave a Reply

