Baby Blues

We are counting down this week.

Counting down to the biggest of my boys turning 7.

With 7 comes changes.

No longer is he eligible for the Lego Junior club.  No.  He’s a big boy moving up to the real Lego club.

No longer can he be a Little Dragon in Karate.  Now he will move up to Junior Basics.

Oooohhhh  S.N.A.P…

He’s moving up in Karate.

Little brother isn’t…

Little brother who started karate with him.  Little brother who has taken 2 belt tests with him.  Little brother who wants to be just like big brother.

We broke the news on the way home from Karate last week.

The fit that ensued was nothing short of heartbreaking and precious.

Little brother cried.

Why did you have to have me last?  Why do I still have to be a baby.  That’s it.  I’m going to be 7.  On my next birthday just put 7 candles on my cake and I’ll be 7 too.  You have to make me 7.  I hate 5.  5 is stupid.  You guys are mean for making me be the youngest.  Just give me 7 candles.

20 minutes from Karate to home.  20 minutes of 5 not being equal to 7 in any shape, form or fashion.  20 minutes of life sucking because there is another separation between him and the brother he cherishes so very much.

Fortunately there will be a transition for Eli’s move from one Karate class to another.  He will continue to attend class with Keegan one night a week and do his own class one night a week.  Soon, though, there will be a true separation.

7 is going to be big in so many ways.

The challenge will be to make sure 5 is just as big.

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Blues

  1. Elastamom says:

    Oh man. Matthew does this all the time. It’s hard being the youngest.

  2. That is incredibly sweet. Miss M. knows just how he feels.

Leave a Reply

