Green Means Stop

Today he rode the bus home alone.  His brother had vision therapy.

He hates riding the bus alone but would hate going to Extra Time alone more.

His brother and I met him at the bus stop.

He exited the bus with shoulders slumped.  He glanced up at me and tears streamed down his face.

Buddy what’s wrong?  What happened?

He wouldn’t talk.  When he’s nervous or upset he just moves his hands to try to communicate.  Sometimes he whispers.

He cried harder and held tightly to my arm.

I was scared.  He was on the bus all by himself.  Did someone hurt him?  Did something bad happen?  Why was he so very upset?

He continued to cry and shake his head.

Eli looked at him and said I bet he got his card turned mom.

He stopped walking and looked at me.

Is that it Keegan?  Did you get your card turned today?

Mommy I got a green card today.  I was just playing the staring game and waving my hands to make H blink and Mrs. S. said to keep my hands to myself and Mrs. T. said I had to turn my card.  I didn’t know it would happen.  Honest.  I didn’t mean to get my card turned.

Again he cried.

My sensitive guy was disciplined at school in a very simple manner for a very mild offense.  To him it was the end of the world.

I emailed his teacher to get the full story so I could help him talk through it.  She responded so we could go through why he got the green card and how to avoid it in the future.  I reminded him of all the smiley faces he’s gotten so far this year.  I told him how proud I am of all that he’s learned so far and how hard he’s working.

Then I reminded him that tomorrow is a new day.  A clean slate.  He’ll walk into his classroom and the smiley face card will be looking at him.

But when will the one on the paper in my folder go away?

It’s one of many scars that will pave the way through his life.  Fortunately it’s small and will heal quickly.  It will lead him to different choices, as our scars often do.

Tomorrow is another day.  Tomorrow he will smile.

***********************************************************************

For those who asked, here is a picture of the bracelet from yesterday’s post.

 

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Means Stop

  1. Elastamom says:

    Gabe has only had his card turned once (his whole table was punished for something 2 of the 4 kids were doing) and he was devastated. He couldn’t even go to lunch that day! Our rule-following kids have such a hard time with this! I hope he feels better today. Oh and Eli knowing exactly what was bothering Kee? That’s all kinds of brother awesome.

  2. Oh, that first card is devastating! I thought D. would never stop crying. Give him an extra hug for me.

Leave a Reply

