Laughs and Giggles

If I didn’t know any better I’d swear I was nesting.

I spent Saturday cleaning the crap out of my house.  I mean that in the MOST literal way!

My Facebook post read that I found 3 counters, a table and a washer and dryer in my house.  I was not exaggerating!

We have been running like crazy people since school started.  We have activities every evening of the week and soccer games on Saturdays.  Usually we’re getting up early Saturday morning to wash all of the soccer gear from practice on Wednesday and Thursday to wear at the game on Saturday.  Then we come home, add the dirty gear back into the wash and complete the Eiffel Tower high piles of laundry throughout the day.

Saturday I couldn’t take the clutter anymore.  I couldn’t cook up breakfast because I couldn’t find a counter in my kitchen.  The pile of crap on my printer table kept falling every time anyone looked at it.  Then there’s the crapton of stuff sitting on top of my washer and dryer making it impossible to find ANYTHING.

Insert psycho crazy cleaning woman.

My honey saw it clearly.  She focused on laundry and stayed out of my way.  Smart girl!

My focus was so strong that I don’t clearly remember if I spent any time with my kids on Saturday.  I know they were home but I don’t think I saw them.  I truly hate those days.  They make me a cranky mommy.

Today I vowed to take it easy.  I recalled that there was a “Fossil Fest” in the downtown area that the boys had begged to go to.  I spent the morning being lazy and then I got dressed and we headed out.  Just me and my boys.

Oh, the fun we had!

They got to dig for fossils in a giant pile of slate and stones.  They both looked at me for approval.  I laughed and got to digging with them!  We found some of the coolest things and shared some great laughs.  They played all of the games set up and won some very cool dinosaur tattoos.  They went inside a log cabin, a red caboose and a black engine.  They made rock pets.  We bought cotton candy (a true treat that I NEVER buy).  They both had the time of their lives.  I had a blast just watching them.

On the way home I snuck them to the park they’ve been begging to go to.  We played and climbed and spun and hung from monkey bars.  It was worth every moment of togetherness with them.

As we were leaving the park, Eli ran up behind me and wrapped his arms around my waist.  Mommy thank you for making today the most fun ever.  I had fun being with you today.  I love you mommy.

I held back the tears.

Today was so seemingly simple but so very important.  I need to remember to make the most of our days together, no matter what we do.  I at least need to take note of this weekend and remember that life is about Yin and Yang.  I must balance the psycho cleaning lady with the fun and giggling mom.  It’s good for my boys and it’s good for me too.

Hopefully no one throws in a high wire act…

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laughs and Giggles

  1. debbi henry says:

    Aww, I love hearing how much fun you had with your boys!!
    You are right, finding balance, with everything, is what we strive for! Good luck with your balancing act and hopefully we won’t see pictures of high wire acts anytime soon.

  2. I had to laugh at your description of “psycho cleaning.” I did that this weekend, too. Sometimes you just can’t take it any more! Sounds like the fossil excursion was good medicine.

  3. Elastamom says:

    I had a psycho cleaning day on Saturday too…and then Sunday was psycho grocery day…I am saving laundry for tomorrow. It never stops but a mom’s gotta do it! Glad you squeezed in some fun too.

Leave a Reply

