Canon in D#

Canon in D.

One of my favorite songs.

So soothing, so elegant.

Full of love, hope, life.

Something changes.

A note is played sharp, perhaps.

Suddenly the tune changes.

The tempo accelerates.  The volume increases.

I have left soothing.  I took a great leap from elegant.

I have entered Michael Flatley’s world. My feet never stop moving.

I am up on toes, quickly losing balance.  Knowing when I fall there will be no net.  How could there be?

I am spinning.  Faster and faster, out of control.

Someone make it stop.  Please.

It changes again.

The tempo varies, alternating between barely moving and unstoppable.

The volume fluctuates, so soft it is barely  noticeable or so loud you can’t hear yourself think.

I try to be louder.  I try to move faster.  I can’t get away.

The music keeps changing.

I can’t keep up.

I’m exhausted.

I am just a child.

Back to school shouldn’t be this hard.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in anxiety, Back To School. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Canon in D#

  1. Elastamom says:

    I know just how you feel. Olivia isn’t having the anxiousness from anticipating the start of school, but I know she’s going to be overwhelmed and exhausted!

Leave a Reply

