Oh Happy Day

Do you ever have those days?

You know, the ones where you feel like the stars are actually smiling on you instead of spitting meteors at you?

I don’t think the stars were smiling today but they at least cracked a grin.

I’ve been dodging Jupiter sized meteors for much of the last 6 months.

Today the shower slowed and even stalled for a moment.  I could see those bright stars peaking through.

And in the background I could hear Christina Aguilara belting out Lady Marmalade.

I haven’t listened to that song in more than 2 years.  2 years, 3 months and 25 days.  It was the ringtone that was earmarked for when my sister would call me.

Giuchie Giuchie Ya Ya Dada the phone would holler and my face would crack a smile every time.  In the end I was concerned whenever Christina’s brassy voice would monopolize my phone.

After the last phone call came I stopped listening to Lady Marmalade.  I simply couldn’t hear it and know that I wouldn’t hear Heidi’s voice immediately following.

Today I wanted to hear it.  Craved hearing it.

I heard it in the distance today – the musical montage to my day.  Heidi was doing the voice over.  For the first time in more than 2 year I heard her voice and she said it would be ok.  And I smiled.

I caught a glimpse today of why these cumbersome space rocks have had my name on them.  There is always a lesson to be learned.  I have been reminded of patience and humility.  I have been taught valuable information that without these hits I would never have learned.  I realized that Heidi has been there the entire time holding my hand, guiding me through.

Today I lift my ban of this song.  I will keep it near my heart and proudly wear the smile it has always brought me.  Today I found some much-needed happy.

The clouds are parting, the meteor shower is lifting and the stars are starting to twinkle through.  The road ahead is long but I have a dear friend walking beside me, seeing me through the hardships.  For that I am forever grateful.

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Happy Day

  1. Elastamom says:

    This post makes me smile!!!

  2. debbi henry says:

    This is beautiful Heather! Your writing is always beautiful when you write about your sister. I always love reading your tributes to her, even though I always cry through them!

Leave a Reply

