On Love And Trust

I recently heard a story that broke my heart.

A mother left her baby with a sitter recommended to her by friends.  She was gone for several hours.

She returned home to find the lights off in her home and the sitter holding her baby in a chair.  She started turning on lights and noticed her baby had eyes wide open but wasn’t looking at her.  He baby was laying limp in the sitter’s arms.

It was then that she noticed her baby’s swollen and bruised face.  Her baby’s bloodshot eyes.

Yes, this happened while I was here but I didn’t do anything.

She called 911 and the police and ambulance arrived to help this mother and child.

The baby had severe bruising throughout the body, hand prints on the abdomen, bleeding in the eyes.  He was taken to the emergency room and admitted to the hospital.

Fortunately for this young infant all wounds were superficial.  This infant survived a horrendous attack.  The sitter was convicted of all charges.

This family must now start the lengthy struggle of putting their lives back together, of learning to trust, of teaching this young infant about love again.

It left me thankful.

Thankful that I have never walked out of my house and wondered what would happen to my children while I was gone.

Thankful that I’ve never questioned the origin of a bruise, cut or scrape.

Thankful that during those years that my boys couldn’t talk they had their loving nana to take care of them.  I didn’t need them to talk to tell me about their day.  I trusted that they had fun and were well care for.

For almost 7 years I’ve taken for granted the people who have been around for my sons.  The people who love them with all their hearts.  The people who I trust with all my soul.

I love you all.  All of you who love my boys.  All of you who care for my boys with the kindest of hearts.  Thank you for allowing me to be at peace whenever I leave my home.

And God bless this sweet baby who had the strongest of angels watching over.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Love And Trust

  1. Kate says:

    They are only so little for a short while. And there are great loving caregivers out there, nannies a sitters. But. But. Little ones can’t speak out, can’t fight back. Even our big ones don’t always have the words to express what happens. This story breaks my heart, and reminds me why we choose date night in.

  2. Elastamom says:

    Me too, Heather, me too.

Leave a Reply

