We Interrupt Your Previously Scheduled Broadcast…

To bring you some around the house updates!!!

Eli had his first vision therapy recheck today.  I must start by saying that it was overlapped with his regularly scheduled vision therapy appointment.  He did therapy first, then waited for about 15 minutes for the doctor to come in to examine him.  Not an easy wait and recovery for a sensory boy who is still sleep deprived from vacation and is tired from a hard day at camp.

The doctor started by testing his binocularity.  This is the ability to use his eyes together and to shift focus from near to far and back again.  This appeared to have improved.  We have a new activity to do this week to test this skill.  But, overall, things are looking up!

Next he tested his tracking abilities.  This has been Eli’s weakest skill from the get go.  He started by having Eli track a silver ball in a circular motion.  It was clear very early on that this is still a very difficult task for him.  The doctor then had him follow the ball with his finger but not touch it.  This he was able to do without flaw.  A HUGE improvement from the last exam where he couldn’t track unless he was physically touching the ball.  I have to believe that he would have done slightly better had he been less tired.  But, alas.

We rewarded all of Eli’s hard work by taking the boys on a preplanned visit to the Humane Society.  My honey and I had been over there earlier in the day to look at a puppy and put him on hold.  We wanted to see how he would react to the boys before making the adoption final.  Of course, things went as expected and we now call this sweet little fellow Wicket – yes, after the Star Wars Ewok.

Tomorrow I will return to finish the highlights of our vacation.  For now I’m off to bed as I am certain the newest member of our household is likely to have me up as often as my newborn babies did.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We Interrupt Your Previously Scheduled Broadcast…

  1. Oh. Just look at that face.

  2. Kate says:

    Congratulations on the progress, it sounds like things are coming along! And that puppy! Oh my goodness! He’s too precious! Congrats on him too – I bet your boys are over the moonL

  3. Elastamom says:

    Good job to Eli on the hard work! Can’t wait to meet Wicket in person…he’s so freaking cute I can’t stand it and I love it that you got him from the Humane Soceity!

Leave a Reply

