The Art of Frustration

***  This is an oldie but a goodie originally published 3/10.  I’m digging through my archives this week as I enjoy the peace and somewhat quiet of the great outdoors!  See you in August!***

Take a look at that face.  It looks innocent, right?  That face looks like it could be sweet, loving, kind.  But, if you look closely, you’ll see the mischievous mind that lies within….
Today was a rough day, really a rough end to a difficult weekend.  Eli had a hard time all weekend and thus Keegan had a hard time.  It was a “boys will be boys” weekend.  At one point I’m pretty sure I overheard my honey ask them both if they could just be girls for one minute.  To which they both dug deep inside themselves, found the squeakiest, nails on the chalkboard voices and very quickly got to become boys again.
So, today was divide and conquer day.  Eli was drawn toward his legos so Keegan decided to do some puzzles.  He got frustrated pretty early on and Eli offered to help him.  We let it go for a minute because we wanted to see if they could work together.  Keegan proceeded to get more frustrated so I requested that Eli go back to his legos and I would help Keegan with the puzzle.
We painstakingly moved our way through putting this 24 piece puzzle together.  Not long into the puzzle it became obvious to me that we were missing a piece.  Not that long ago they boys decided to do puzzles with Nana and pieces did not all get put back where they belong.  So, I started my mommy moment of lecturing them about putting things back where they belong.  Then, I set out to go through all of the puzzles we have to find the missing piece.
I started with the 24 piece superhero puzzles that we have.  Quite frankly, I started there because I’m too stinking lazy to look at the larger puzzles.  I was so frustrated at the time that it didn’t occur to me that the 100 piece puzzles pieces would be smaller than the 24 piece puzzle pieces are.  Hind sight 20/20!  Anyway, I was onto about puzzle #3, complaining and lecturing with each piece, when Eli left his legos.  I assumed he was headed to the bathroom – we all remember where assumptions get us right??
Before I move on, you have to scroll back to the top of this post and review the face in that picture one more time.  I’ll wait…….
That is the exact look on Eli’s face as he came back into the kitchen and handed me the “missing piece”.  When I asked him where he found it, he said “mommy it was on the table by the front door the whole time!”
That little stinker had taken it when he was “helping” Keegan and sat straight-faced the entire time I was complaining about the boys not putting their puzzles back where they belong and complaining that I was having to put these puzzles together to try to find the missing piece.
My son outsmarted me ages ago, and now he knows it!
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Art of Frustration

  1. TKW says:

    Ah, he's a clever little sprite, isn't he?

  2. jOi-C says:

    LOL! its great to get a laugh in haha couldn't been worse right?

Leave a Reply

