Blessing or Curse???

***  This is an oldie but a goodie originally published 2/10.  I’m digging through my archives this week as I enjoy the peace and somewhat quiet of the great outdoors!  See you in August!***

IT CAME!!!!  IT FINALLY CAME!!!!!

The Wii that we have been searching for finally arrived in the mail today.  My kids were so excited until they remembered that they are already grounded from it until Sunday!  Life sure sucks when you decide to clean the bedrooms by turning on the ceiling fans and flinging wet wash cloths up in the air at them.  It also sucks when you decide to use a roll of toilet paper and a package of Kan-Do wipes to dress each other up as mummy’s.  It really sucks when you decide to see how many legos you can fit into the heating vent.  But…. I digress:)

The Wii came and because the kids were grounded and my honey goes to bed shortly after the kids do I had the Wii ALL TO MYSELF!

The words I got before my honey went to bed were “I don’t want to hear you whine because you injured yourself on the Wii Fit!”  Yeah, yeah, yeah….  Whatever – I’m only gonna mess around with it.  Set it up and all.  (For the record my Wii Fit age is 36 – which I’ll be in 3 months!  I’m not doing so bad!)

I synchronized the balance board and put in the disc.  Did I read the directions on how to put the disc in?  OF COURSE NOT!  I do have a little testosterone running through my veins after all!  So, I bitched a little when I had to eject the disc and turn it around.  Stupid machine!

I set up the Miis for myself and my family.  Loads of fun:)  Then I went through the initialization of Wii Fit.  Got my age, weight, BMI, etc.  Felt pretty good about myself afterward – I was a little worried after this week (Paczki’s and all!).  So I did a little Yoga stretching.  Then I got bored so I moved onto the fun games on Wii Fit.

I did a little hula hooping and a little dance stepping.  Then I decided to go for a jog.  Simple jog – I’m not a runner after all.  I did as requested and moved all objects out of my way (so as not to injure myself as instructed!).  I began chasing that cute little kitty – who did get a little annoying when he would look back at me if I fell too far behind.  About halfway through the run I apparently stepped back wrong and pulled my calf muscle……

I was jogging for crying out loud!  On a pretty little virtual trail with lovely waterfalls and stupid male avatars falling around me.  I was bitching at the stupid cat because I’d fallen behind a little – I was laughing at the goofy avatar that just fell next to me!  I can’t be expected to run and laugh at the same time!  And, consequently, I pulled my calf muscle.

In my defense, this is the same muscle that I severely injured last summer when I was loading my father-in-laws truck after my garage sale.  My driveway sits on an incline and I was closing the tailgate of the truck when I stepped back too far while trying to brace myself and….  Well lets just say that I hobbled around for the rest of the day.  Thank goodness for a spouse who doubles as a licensed massage therapist!  Otherwise I would have hobbled for much longer than a day.

So, the stupid calf muscle is sore again.  Because of a stupid jog in a non-existent land.  And did I stretch it out??  OF COURSE NOT!  (Again with the testosterone)  I immediately sat down on my couch and started typing this post!  After all, what would my honey have to give me crap about if I didn’t prove her right every now and again!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

