Yep, He’s a Loser Too…

Well, in less than a month he will be.

We took Keegan to the ENT last week for a follow-up.

Can I just start with I’m tired of going to doctor’s offices?!?!

Not for the ordinary reasons of paying all the co-pays, hearing bad news, being at the doctor, etc.  No, I’m tired because every blasted time we go my kids grow and gain weight!  Ok, I know that all scales are different.  But measurements are measurements.  And my kids have grown like mad this summer!

Anyway…  The doctor was shocked that the nasal mist that Keegan has been doing for 2 months didn’t help.  He double checked that we were doing it right.  He asked Keegan a bunch of questions about how he sleeps.  He asked us a bunch of questions about how he sleeps.  In the end he handed Keegan a coloring book and welcomed him to the elite club of getting your tonsils and adenoids out.

And he was scared.  Worried that he was having surgery that day.  As we talked him off the ledge big brother stepped up as sometimes only he can.

He told him he wouldn’t feel the pain cuz’ he’d be sleeping during surgery.  He told him he’d get to have ice cream for every meal and eat lots of popsicles and jello.  He told him he’d get to lay on the couch and watch any movie he wants.  He gave him a hug and told him he’d make it feel better.

I’d be lying if I said the tears weren’t there, threatening to jumps ship over the lower lids of my eyes.  How did this sweet boy make his brother smile again?  How did he find the right words when he has been unable to properly mourn the loss of our beloved family friend?  Where did this boy come from?  No matter, he was here when his brother needed him most.

We put off the procedure until after our vacation next week.  The doctor is on vacation the week after we are.  So that leaves the 2nd week of August.  Just enough time for Keegan to heal, have his follow-up appointment with the doctor the day before he starts kindergarten.

Swimming will be done.  Baseball will be done.  Karate will be put on a back burner, for Keegan at least.  It will be much easier to keep my couch potato relaxed than it was to keep my sensory seeker calm and quiet.

I am certainly not looking forward to my baby undergoing surgery.  I am, however, looking forward to the prospects this surgery holds.

Better sleep for my baby.  This holds the possibilities of better sleep for me.  Better attitude for my tired boy.  Better attitude for me.  He’ll be less likely to forget.  Better able to listen and follow directions.  Better able to learn.

I look forward to all this school year holds for both of my growing boys!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yep, He’s a Loser Too…

  1. Aww, how sweet that his brother rushed in to comfort him. Crossing fingers…

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    How sweet is Eli? Seriously, this almost made me cry.
    I’m hoping the surgery goes very smoothly for Keegan and is a success in helping him to sleep!
    Keegan will have to go shopping before hand to pick out some very special treats!

Leave a Reply

