I See An Update

This will be brief as I’m up WAY too late, once again!

I am counting down the days to vacation, that’s for certain.

But, just as exciting is the countdown to Eli’s fist vision check since he started therapy.  Fortunately this appointment is almost immediately following the conclusion of our fun-filled vacation.

He will have been doing therapy for 8 weeks at that time.  This means that he has completed more than half of his required therapy related to this visit and is 1/4 of the way to full completion.

The ride has been a rough one…

It has been difficult to watch how many of the activities are nearly impossible for him to complete.  And yet, we have seen improvement.

Tracking is still a chore for him.  But his skills at each of the tasks he must complete have improved greatly.  While he can’t track without a reminder, he can now track!  He hasn’t gotten a gold star on his computer activities but his times have improved and his accuracy remains solid.

The true telltale sign that he is improving???  He rarely complains about doing the therapy anymore!

He’s excited this week because one of his tasks is to find pictures in a hidden picture book.  The kid lives and breathes for these things!  We have several around the house!  And a little birdie told me that he’ll be getting an I SPY game from Santa this year for Christmas.  Just perfect for this kid.  Of course, we’ll have to see how he does with the addition of the lenses that are meant to make it HARDER to find the hidden pictures…

Anyway…

I had to let everyone know just how wonderfully this is going.  We couldn’t have made a better choice about services for our struggling guy.  Reading does seem to be getting easier and I’m noticing him read signs around town now and read words as I type on the computer.

We are so very proud of him for his hard work and determination.  We are excited for the future that lays ahead of him!!!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I See An Update

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Yay Eli!! All that hard work is paying off. I am very happy for him and for you and I can’t wait to hear what the therapist has to say!

  2. Elastamom says:

    I’m so glad it’s going so well!!!

Leave a Reply

