Blinded by the Light

We are incredibly fortunate parents.

We had “good” babies who started sleeping for 5-6 hours at a stretch when they were 2 months old.

Our attorney told us an old wives tale that her grandmother told her when her children were young.  She said it worked for her so what the hell!  Why not try it!

For all you new moms out there here’s the deal.  Hold your baby upright over your left shoulder (as if burping).  Turn counterclockwise 3 times.  Your baby should start to sleep like an angel***

***The disclaimer here is that you can’t beat me when this doesn’t work!!!

A couple of years ago we were no longer sleeping through the night because Eli was no longer sleeping through the night.  He was snoring.  We made a decision to remove his tonsils and adenoids and sleeping got better… kind of…

We bit the bullet and bought him a weighted blanket for bedtime.  That sucker cost an arm and a leg and barely covers his body!  Fortunately, since then, I’ve found a couple of cheaper websites but still…  If anyone is totally feeling the need to be crafty and wants to make him one for Christmas I wouldn’t be offended!

Anyway…  The weighted blanket worked wonders in helping him to fall asleep.  My honey would even cover him back up with it before she went to work in the hopes that he would sleep longer.

We started to notice a trend.  In the winter when the days are short and morning doesn’t start until later he sleeps.  On rainy days when the clouds shield the sun’s light he sleeps.  On lovely summer days when the sun breaks through the curtains before 6am he is wide – freaking – awake.

I made the boys’ curtains when we moved into our house.  I was feeling bad that my curtain fabric choice was not helping any of us sleep.  I found a pair of dark curtains from our old house that were in a Goodwill pile.  I took the liberty of attaching them to his existing curtains.  It helped a little but the damn sun still finds its way through.

Friends recommended room blackening shades and swore by J.C. Penney.  I got online and they were 50% off – $25 instead of $50.  Why not?!?!

The lovely shades arrived in the mail on Friday.  Eli was so excited.  He wanted them put up Friday night.  I told him I’d do it on Saturday.  We got them out to look at them anyway.

Damn it all if the stupid things weren’t 1 inch too long.  I had to break the news to Eli that his shades had to go back and that they had to be reordered.  I’d be lying if I said he wasn’t just as pissed as I was.

So now we wait for the shades, again.  In the mean time, my honey made an impromptu trip to Target today and found him some satin eye mask.  Once again Eli was thrilled.  He even asked to go to bed tonight – an occurrence as rare as sailing safely through the Bermuda Triangle.

Tonight is the test.  We’ll see how it goes.  We’ve tried so many things that I shan’t be holding my breath.  But, oh, if it works…

And since we’re talking about sleep…  Keegan will return to the ENT on Thursday where we will likely be discussing the removal of his tonsils and adenoids.  The fun never ends.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blinded by the Light

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Isn’t it amazing what we do to help our kids sleep? Good luck and keep us posted!

  2. Aimee says:

    How is it weighted? I will for total sure make a blanket for E. Let me do some digging.

  3. Elastamom says:

    I can’t fall asleep if it’s light out either!!!

  4. Patty says:

    That totally stinks about the blinds! I’d be so annoyed, too!

Leave a Reply

