Wondering How…

I heard a story today.

A story that broke my heart.

A story about a baby that was only 6 weeks old.

6 weeks.

This baby was removed from his home and placed with relatives.

This baby was beaten.

He had skull fractures in 3 places.

He had a broken femur in each leg.

He had a brain bleed.

He had several broken ribs.

He was bruised.

My heart broke.

My eyes welled up with tears.

How could someone hurt something so small, something so innocent.

How could God allow someone so small, someone so innocent to endure such pain.

This baby will never be the same.

He will never know the life he started out having.

That life is gone.

His days are filled with seizures.  With healing.  With pain.

It hurts me to know that this sweet little baby was fully capable of leading a life he desired and that life was taken away from him.

So many parents are thankful for the children they have – no matter their abilities.  Why didn’t this particular parent care?

I have been at my wit’s end with a crying baby.  I have put a screaming infant into his crib and walked away for a moment or two to compose myself, maybe shed a tear or two of my own.  All so I could return to my baby, pick him up, hold him close and do whatever I could to make things better.

I remember returning from a trip to visit my sister when Eli was about 2-1/2 years old.  He drank a lot and needed to go potty but wouldn’t go in his diaper.  He screamed in the car.  I cried along with him.  I stopped at a rest stop and just held him and we cried together until finally he let his bladder loose and filled his diaper.  I changed him and he slept the remaining 2 hours home.  The only thought in my mind was doing anything I could to make him better, not anything I could to make him stop.

This is a phenomenon that I will never truly understand.

I share this story as a reminder to check yourself when your children are putting you over the edge.  They don’t mean to push your buttons.  They are simply being the selfish little beings that God made them.  Babies and toddlers SHOULD be selfish.  It’s their very nature.  It’s up to us, the adults in their world, to meet their needs and protect them from harm.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wondering How…

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    That’s so horrible Heather…Protecting our children is what we are supposed to do and I will never understand how someone could do what this parent did. I just hope this baby is getting the love and care he needs.

Leave a Reply

