The Challenge

You might think that I was going to use this post to further discuss the challenges we face this summer in meeting the crazy demands that we placed upon ourselves.

You would be wrong.

This is week one and it is most certainly crazy.  But we have a system.  And, like most good systems, we’re good as long as the generator keeps running.  One wrench thrown in the mix and we’re likely to go tumbling ass over tea kettle rapidly downhill, however!

But as of now we’ve survived 2 days of summer camp, 1 karate lesson and 1 baseball practice.  We have 2 nana days, 1 day of therapy camp, 1 karate lesson, 1 baseball game, 1 karate belt test and swimming lessons to go before we can call it quits for this week.

Hmmmmm…  gotta check into getting me one of those Aerobeds to keep in the back of my car should a naptime opportunity present itself…

Anyhoosey…

No.  The challenge I speak of is one of keeping up with the Jones’s.  The Jones’s, of course, being my growing boys.

We joined the summer reading challenge at the local library.  They are both so excited.  And, for once, it’s not just about the prizes.  They actually love getting to stamp their cards for each hour that they read just as much as getting the prizes.  And they love the thrill that comes with reading.

We made Keegan some “books in a bag” like Eli would bring home from kindergarten.  They are easy reader books that are only about 6-8 pages long and have some words and some picture representations.  Keegan is working hard at following the words with his fingers, memorizing the stories, naming the picture representations and even starting to learn a few words.  It’s fun to watch him want to read like his brother.  I look forward to him learning so that we can all read together!

Eli is branching out.  He was really hooked on Tedd Arnold’s Fly Guy series.  Now he wants to read everything.  I dedicated a shelf on the living room bookcase to books that Eli can read on his own.  He loves it.  They are books that will challenge him and books that are easy.  He reads anywhere from 15-45 minutes everyday, sometimes longer if it’s a nana day!  He’s already logged 5 hours of him reading to us.  It’s awesome and warms my heart so very much!

And then there’s me…  I have taken the challenge to read 10, count them 10, books this summer.  I have until the beginning of August to complete this task.

I’ve logged 1 book.  Yes, I said ONE…

To my credit it was Stephen King’s Under the Dome.  That book is as thick as the Bible!  No comparison in story line however 😉

I really don’t take time out enough to read.  I spend my evenings catching up on email, checking out Facebook, reading other people’s blogs and writing posts on my own blog.  And then there’s that place I go to everyday, all day, that provides the income and really brings me such joy!  I wasn’t stopping to read anything at all for leisure.

I’ve made it my goal to stop for 30 minutes each day and read.  If I have longer I will take it.  But 30 minutes is my goal.  I now carry my book with me everywhere.  And I love it!

I’m partway through my 2nd book and have requested a third from the library.  I’m coveting the Chronicles of Narnia series for this reading adventure as well.  Can you believe I’ve never taken a dive into the world that exists through the doors of a magical wardrobe???

I continue to add to my list of reads knowing that even after summer is over I will still want some wonderful words to fill my imagination.  I want to continue this pledge to read everyday for as long as I possibly can.  Please take a moment and share with me a favorite book or two.  I’d love to hear what others are reading.  It will help my list grow and move me closer to my goal.

Will I reach that lofty goal of 10 books by August?  Likely not.  But I’m sure gonna give it the old college try!  (no, I’m not going the Cliff Notes route!!!)

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Challenge

  1. Elastamom says:

    I wouldn’t be the same without reading! Glad you and the boys are getting some reading time.

Leave a Reply

