Not The Mama

There are no daddies in this house.

My boys do not know the person who provided the other half of their DNA.  Neither do we, except for a number, small description and medical history.

My boys are not without very strong, very positive male role models in their lives.

Eli recently did a project for Father’s day at school.  He was so excited to share with his class that his project was for his Papa and his Uncle David.  He was far too excited to save the project for today.  So, each special male received his gift within days of them arriving home.

We talk about why there isn’t a dad.  Never once have they asked for a dad.  Probably because we never deny them any interactions with the wonderful men in their lives.

So today, on this day of celebrating fathers and father figures, I honor the men that love my boys.  The ones they ask about.  The ones they get overjoyed to see.  I thank them for the love and kindness and generosity and devotion that they show them.  I look forward to all of the continued lessons they have to share and the love they have to give.

To all of you.  You make my children amazing boys who will someday become fantastic men.


A bell is no bell ’til you ring it,
A song is no song ’til you sing it,
And love in your heart
Wasn’t put there to stay –
Love isn’t love
‘Til you give it away.
~Oscar Hammerstein, Sound of Music, “You Are Sixteen (Reprise)”

Thank you to you all for the love that you give everyday to two little boys who couldn’t love you more!

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not The Mama

  1. A very sweet tribute to the strong men in your boys’ lives. That’s what they really need, and that’s all that matters.

  2. Patty says:

    This just brought tears to my eyes. And you know? I had a dad, still do, in fact, at least in theory. And even though he’s around, I don’t feel like he’s much a part of my life. He never calls me, hasn’t visited my home in years and is just generally not much engaged in my life or my siblings’. I would have given anything to have men in my life like those you describe. I know the person who donated sperm. Heck, I even grew up with him in my life (he didn’t physically abandon us) but he’s never been there for me emotionally in any way. So, your boys? Yeah, I think what they have is pretty darn special, and good for you for ensuring they have wonderful men in their lives!

  3. Debbi Henry says:

    This is lovely Heather!!

Leave a Reply

