The Sound of Music

For as long as my sweet boys have been alive I’ve sung them asleep.

Ok, really in recent years I’ve relied on the CD players in their rooms to produce the music to lull them to sleep.

Now I typically only sing them to sleep when we’re at the cabin and the batteries in the speaker that connects to our MP3 player need charging so they have no music.  It’s then that I lay on the floor in their room and sing whatever songs come to mind that are soft and soothing.

Sure, there are favorites.  The “Stay Awake” song from Mary Poppins is one that I’ve sung to Keegan since the very day that he was born.  I can count on that and soft rubbing on his hand or foot to put him to sleep every time.  When he is really fighting sleep he’ll tell me instantly to be quiet if I start to sing that song.  He knows it too 🙂

Tonight we were out later than usual having dinner and play time with dear friends.  They boys were cranky about going home but only because they were tired.  We got home, snuggled into favorite jammies, brushed teeth and tucked little ones into bed.

Moments after being tucked in, Keegan got up and came into my bedroom to get one more hug.

Mommy I want you to sing me a song tonight please.

My heart melted.  He rarely asks anymore.  I wanted to badly to do it.

Unfortunately on Monday of this week I started loosing my voice from allergy and sinus issues.  By Tuesday I couldn’t talk above a whisper at all.  Slowly my voice is starting to come back but it is nowhere near singing quality unless I sing in a whisper.

I shared this sad reminder with Keegan.  He frowned and his sleepy little eyes looked so sad.

Mommy, when is your voice going to sound normal again?  I really want you to sing.  But, I guess mama will do…

And sing she did.  Fortunately for all of us he was mostly asleep when he requested I sing and as she was singing to him.  He couldn’t fuss much because it wasn’t exactly what he wanted.

It made me sad to not be able to sing my sweet boy to sleep when the opportunities to do so are so few and far between anymore.  But then I smiled.  My sweet boy still wants me to sing him to sleep…  Perhaps I just need to offer more.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Sound of Music

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    How sweet is that…When Caleb was younger, I would try to sing to him, but he would cover my mouth and tell me not to sing. I guess I have the worst singing voice ever!!

  2. My kids beg me NOT to sing. 🙂

  3. jane says:

    Hey, my singing is not soooo horrible. He fell asleep didn’t he?!

  4. Elastamom says:

    The boys are so sweet. We were all tired too but good tired…from so much fun!!!

Leave a Reply

