Summer Has Begun

It will never cease to amaze me how our May can be so rough because Eli knows a transition is coming.  We about explode during Memorial Day weekend.  Then school ends and this sweet little boy awakes from the very room where a close to demon child once slept.

I expected difficulties from my anxiety ridden, sensory guy today.  It was the first day of summer camp, nay glorified daycare, and also the first meeting with the vision therapist.  That’s a lot of firsts for my little guy.

We got up early because we had to leave home in time to drop them off and get me to work.  Eli asked for oatmeal for breakfast – his favorite these days.  He ate in a matter of minutes.  He then spent the next 20 minutes quietly playing with his Legos.

Soon it was time to leave.  I asked the boys to get their shoes.  He complied after I asked only once and out the door we went – on time!

We arrived at our destination.  Eli waltzed right in and immediately was surrounded by the children in the classroom.  Keegan teared up, his face turned red and he hid his face in my hair and whispered in my ear.  He didn’t want me to leave him there.  Mommy I can stay but just don’t leave me.  Of course I had to go but not without feeling like a crappy mom.  I was able to wait until about 11:30 before I called to check up on him.  That was mostly because I’ve lost my voice so I couldn’t even talk on the phone until I’d had enough hot tea to get some sound back.

Of course, they had a great day.  Eli decided he wants to do summer camp every day.  No can do, but what a nice idea.  He was calm as he transitioned from camp to the therapist.

My honey said he was very compliant for the therapist.  He was a little out of sorts when the therapist was showing my honey what the home program would entail, but that’s nothing new.  Keegan was apparently completely wild and got in all sorts of trouble.

I got home to find them playing nicely but starting to get wound up.  I sent them outside and before I knew it Eli had a bloody nose.  It sounded like they were practicing their karate and Keegan got Eli on a punch.  To defend Keegan a little, Eli’s had issues with bloody noses for about a week now, so I’m certain it didn’t take much to make it bleed again.  Neither here nor there.  I knew it was too much for them.

So, I packed them up in the car and took them to the park.  Eli totally got his sensory on at the park!  He climbed higher than I’ve seen him climb in a while.  He hung on the monkey bars for several minutes.  He stood in the middle of the teeter totter and rocked it back and forth for several minutes.  He ran and ran and ran.  It was easy to see that the day had been hard on him but how wonderfully he was able to hold it together!

We start our home therapy program tomorrow.  There are so many cool things (ok, I think they’re cool but Eli really doesn’t) that we will be doing at home.  And we found out that it’s a total of 25 minutes a day but not 25 consecutive minutes.  He has several activities that he does for only 3 minutes at a time and we can spread these activities throughout the day.  That makes all of our lives so much easier!

So, our summer has officially begun.  It all gets crazier from here.  But, so far, it’s looking to be a boatload of fun!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer Has Begun

  1. ck says:

    Don’t you love how the park offers that? No matter how loud and angry and frustrating things get at our house, or how bored the girls get of each other, the second they even hear the word “park” the possibilities open. Peace is restored.

    • We are truly fortunate to have a totally awesome park just around the corner and our subdivision is currently working on building a bike path directly from our neighborhood to the park! Bike ride + park play = 2 very tired, very happy boys! Parks truly are such a lifesaver. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Elastamom says:

    I’m so glad they had a good first week…and that we were part of it!!!

Leave a Reply

