No More Baby Steps

Tomorrow is the last day of school.

Today?  Today was a kindergarten graduation of sorts.

Eli’s teacher handed out awards to each student.

Eli was deemed “Mr. Scientist” because of his willingness and need to learn about creatures of all kinds and to share his knowledge with others.

I’ll be honest…  Tears welled up in my eyes and a few may have spilled over the edge when his teacher handed him the award.

I’m often an emotional person.  Today kind of caught me off guard, though.  I wondered to myself why I was tearful on such a happy day.

Was it because this anxiety ridden year was coming to a close?  Because we are leaving yet another amazing teacher and are unsure what the future holds for us?  Because I can see how much this teacher genuinely cares about my son?  Because both of my boys are growing up and all too quickly (they will both attend school all day in the fall, long gone are the baby days)?  Because I’m a sap for such occasions?

The answer is Y.E.S.!!!

It was nice to have the picnic after the awards ceremony.  A nice chance to catch up with other parents, to share the emotions of the day, to ponder the year to come.

In between it all we have the summer.  The crazy ass summer.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No More Baby Steps

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Isn’t time going by at such an amazing speed? It just keeps going faster and faster and…

Leave a Reply

