I’m Thankful

I pondered over the post I wanted to write tonight.  There was so much to say.  Then I realized that everything I wanted to say was all summed up by saying “I’m blessed”.  Or, rather, my family is blessed.

So, tonight I focus on things I’m thankful for.

I’m thankful for these two little yoga boys.  They are my loves.  They are my life.  They drive me crazy.  And I wouldn’t trade them for the world.

These lovely flowers that I purchased with Eli and Keegan’s approval after my sister died.  They come back year after year, bigger and better than the year before.  And the butterflies love them.  It’s such a lovely reminder of who Heidi was.

This amazing woman.  She has given us her time for the past 6-1/2 years.  She has loved our boys and watched them everyday so that we could go to work without worry.  Soon she will get her break – one that she so very much deserves.  The boys will go off to kindergarten and attend extra time at school in the mornings.  Nana will officially be off duty effective the last day of August this year.

I don’t have a photo, but I’m thankful for my friends that are welcoming Eli and Keegan into their summer camps.  They will attend a full day camp on Mondays and Tuesdays.  They will stay with nana on Wednesdays and Thursdays and will be at a 1/2 camp on Fridays.  It will be an eventful summer full of fun and learning.  They boys are excited and so are we!

I’m thankful for the chaos and crazy that our summer is destined to be.  The boys are planning to continue karate.  They are making so much progress.  Eli’s coordination is improving so very much.  It’s so very good for both of them.  They also want to play baseball this summer through the YMCA.  It will be exciting to watch them prosper at something new.  And, it’s one more thing to work on Eli’s visual development.  3 evenings a week spent doing the things that they love and that we love to watch them do.

I’m thankful for sidewalk chalk.  For summer bike rides.  For backyard tag and soccer and baseball and kickball and sitting around the fire pit.  For the swimming in the lakes and pools that is to come.  For the dozens of s’mores that are yet to be eaten.

And I’m thankful for all of you.  You come here day in and day out to read about our lives.  To comment on what touched you, what made you laugh, what you connected with.  And I’m beyond thankful for you generosity.  We are at an amazing 35% in the effort to raise funds for Eli’s vision therapy.  I will be phoning the doctor’s office tomorrow to get the first therapy session scheduled.

Some of you who donated don’t know my family at all.  Some of you I’ve only ever talked with via the internet.  Some of you are friends and family.  You’ve all taken on the role of sharing Eli’s story with your friends, family and internet acquaintances.  Many of you have donated.

We are loved, we are blessed.  Eli is fortunate to have you all in his life.  Please keep spreading the word to ChipIn for Eli.

Finally, I am thankful for life.  I am fortunate to take a breath each and every morning.  I am fortunate to have children that drive me crazy and who I love with all my soul.  I am fortunate for my family, for my friends.  I am fortunate for my job.  I am fortunate to truly love my life.

What are you thankful for today?  What keeps you going from day-to-day?  What brings you the happy in your life?

Feel free to share!  It’s what keeps us all coming back to this blogosphere.

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Thankful

  1. Today I am thankful for refrigerator repairmen. Sigh…

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    Heather, the flowers for your sister are beautiful!!!
    Today, I am thankful for so much, but especially for the air conditioner in Hank’s truck. We have to take Gracie to an appt. an hour and a half away and it will be over 90 degrees today. I’m also thankful for his work approving his day off so he can go with us!

  3. Elastamom says:

    Honestly, most days I’m so thankful I feel like I might explode. 🙂 Right now I’m thankful that I teach my last class on Thursday!!!

  4. Pingback: Insanity Defined | Brotherly Love

Leave a Reply

