The Amazing Village

Don’t forget to donate to Eli’s Vision Therapy fund if you can and pass the word along even if you can’t donate.  Every little bit helps.

I didn’t want to have to ask for money from people we knew or people we didn’t know.

I wanted to be able to rely on ourselves.  On our insurance.  On grants.  On scholarships.

We received a letter in the mail on Friday from one of the grants we applied for.  Eli was denied by a grant because they don’t cover vision therapy.  What are we left with when even the grant programs don’t see the benefit of any given therapy in much the same manner as the insurance companies?

I put it out there to the universe – to my universe.

About a month ago I attended an all day retreat for work.  We had a keynote speaker who shared that the average person has a social network of 150 people.  These are the people who you can turn to no matter what.

As of today I have 152 friends on Facebook.  Certainly Facebook is not my only basis for friends.  I have others in my life who are not on Facebook but are still people who I consider my family, consider my close friends.  So, I think it’s safe to say that I fill my quota of having a good foundational social network.

I put the word out on this blog and on Facebook.  My honey put it out on her Facebook.

Everyday that I log onto my computer I continue to be humbled.  My heart is eternally grateful when I open the mailbox at the foot of my driveway.  People are sharing what they can in the way of money.  Just as importantly, they are sharing Eli’s story with their friends, their social network.

A friend of mine has the cutest little boy.  His son has a genetic syndrome that will affect him in some way for the rest of his life.  My friend emailed me today to tell me that he and his wife couldn’t spare any money right now.  Instead he shared Eli’s story with his support group that he turns to.  Families of other children with the same genetic syndrome.  This support group has members that number almost 25o0 people.  Instantly my heart swelled and my eyes teared up.

Several days ago my dear friend Debbi posted on her blog about Eli’s story.  I had 70 visitors to my blog that day.  70!  I’ve never topped 35.  Even if these folks don’t end up helping, the word was spread.  People are listening.

I can’t even begin to express the emotions that I’m feeling right now.  In just a few days we have moved up to $300 in money we’ve raised for Eli.  That’s almost enough to purchase the computer program required for home.

There are times when I’m all alone in my house or everyone is sleeping and I’m quietly reading on the couch.  I suddenly get the feeling that I am very tiny.  That I am someone living in a snow globe atmosphere.  That I am a small part of a very large picture.

Today I feel that way.

Today I realize how small I really am.  Very important, no doubt.  But small nonetheless.  Because without this amazing village that I have managed to wander into I would be nothing.

So, I thank this village.  You have renewed my beliefs in what people can accomplish when they work together.  You have made me feel special.  You have taught me that my family is truly loved.

I hope that I can continue to instill this value into my boys.  To teach them the power of helping in whatever way you can.  And to, someday, be able to share with Eli the story of the village that held him up and cradled him close.  That supported him so that he might succeed.

You all are amazing.  You are beautiful.  And you are forever special in my heart.

Thank you continues to be not enough.  But, it’s all that I have.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Amazing Village

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Huge Hugs and Lots of Love to you Heather!!!

  2. Elastamom says:

    Every time Olivia’s Open comes around, I feel that same way. It is very humbling.

Leave a Reply

