Saying Farewell

This is Keegan’s last week of preschool.  We will celebrate with a picnic on Friday.

Our family has spent 3 years in the comforts of this building.

The teachers know all of us.  They greet us in the grocery store, at church, at the park.  They ask if something is wrong if papa doesn’t bring Keegan to school.  They stop to ask how kindergarten is going for Eli.  They understand and love our family.

On Friday we will party in this safe place one last time.

We will hug the teachers that have helped our boys grow and prepare for the expectations of big boy school.

I will likely shed some tears for this monumental moment in time.

We have completed another path in the lives of our sweet, young boys.

And, while we won’t truly say goodbye to the amazing teachers that have touched our hearts and loved our boys, we will bid them farewell.

We will open the class to another new friend.  Someone the teachers will, no doubt, show as much compassion, caring and love to as they did my boys.

I shopped last night for a token for each of them.  Something to show our appreciation of all they have done over the past 3 years.  And, while I found something I liked, I didn’t find anything that truly said all that I wanted to say to them.

To our amazing preschool teachers:

You took in our first son.  You didn’t know us then and still you loved him.  You had the sweetest things to say about him.  You looked out for him.

You fought for him when no one else would.  You helped him even when they said he didn’t need it.

When it was time for his brother to join your family you welcomed him with open arms and fought over who would be lucky enough to be his teacher.

You nourished their minds in ways I couldn’t.  You prepared them for a life outside this home.  You prepared them for a life of school that was just beginning.

I am excited to see our newest kindergartener fly with the wings you gave him.  I have no doubts that he will succeed because of the foundations you’ve laid – just like his older brother did before him.

On Friday we are not just saying farewell to teachers.  We are saying farewell to family, to friends.

Thank you for giving your lives to caring for the young children who need so much extra love.  Thank you for being genuine.  Thank you for paving that yellow brick road for them.

You are amazing – each of you.  Our lives and, more importantly, the lives of our children would not have been the same without you.

I now know some of what it must feel like for the families I have to say goodbye to every day.  The amount of gratitude I have simply cannot be put into words.

You will always be special in our hearts.

A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops.      ~Henry Adams

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saying Farewell

  1. Elastamom says:

    I remember when pre-school was over for Gabe and Olivia and I felt so heartbroken. This time was much easier as Matty was only there a year, but it’s such a wonderful place that it’s hard to leave!!

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    It’s so hard to say goodbye to the teachers who are so wonderful, and who care so much. I love what you wrote to them here and think it would be wonderful if you included a note with the gift that says these things.

    • It’s actually my plan to print off the letter part of this post and include it in my thank you cards to each of them. I mean these words with all of my heart. They have been amazing people.

  3. Kate says:

    My mom always kept in touch with my favorite preschool teacher. She was at my high school graduatiion party and sent a card when I got my BA. There is a deep beauty to the care given in a good preschool. It is soul-ful work.

Leave a Reply

