Comfort Zone

I’m a survivor.  Always have been.

I am independent.  Whether by personality or life circumstances or both.

I am a problem solver.  I don’t like to walk away from something unfinished.

These are lovely qualities and annoying qualities all in one breath.

When someone like this comes along:

these qualities can be extraordinary.

I posted last week that Eli is in need of therapy.  Therapy that will help his brain and his vision unite in a more positive manner.  Therapy that will be intensive for 21 weeks.  Therapy that could change the way he reads, the way he writes, the way he learns.  Therapy that insurance doesn’t cover and that costs a fair amount of money that the average person doesn’t have just lying around.

I spent an entire evening on the internet applying for grants.  It seems as though everyone is doing that.  The most promising grant takes 3 months to respond.  The next most promising is a 5-6 month wait.  I haven’t heard from the 3rd yet to see what they’re up to.  Bottom line there is that we can’t wait to hear back from these fantastic agencies who are more than willing to help but simply can’t help everyone all at once.  We need to be more proactive.

I had a conversation with Eli’s OT.  We discussed insurance and I got some information on what to say in an appeal.  It is my plan to file an appeal with the insurance company this week.  This too is a timely process but hopefully more conducive to our timelines than any of our other, previously mentioned options.

I spoke to several friends last week and they mentioned a fundraiser.

I stopped dead in my tracks.  This is something I never thought of for us.  Something I feel guilty even thinking about.  Eli is not sick.  He is not dying.  He is not nonverbal and in need of a communication device.  On the outside he looks like and poses as a typical 6YO boy.  What would people think?

But he isn’t a typical 6YO boy.  He is a boy who often writes his letters and numbers backwards.  He is a boy who often reads his letters backwards.  He is a boy whose eyes jump around on a page making reading comprehension difficult.  He is a boy with social anxieties that could, perhaps, be calmed by putting his brain back in the right order.  He is a boy with a list of alphabet soup after his name that describe why these things are happening but not at all how to fix them.

So, I’m contemplating stepping out of my comfort zone.  A friend told me about a way to set up an internet account so that people can donate.  I am planning to talk with my FIL about getting some help from the Legion Post.  And I may be opening up this spot to all of you to donate as you see fit (which could be not at all and I totally wouldn’t hold it against anyone or take it personally).  I would also ask that you pass our plea along to family and friends if you felt that appropriate.  Every little bit helps.  My goal is to raise exactly the amount we need and not a penny more.  Because, no matter how I rationalize this in my mind, I can’t help but feel some guilt about it.

So, keep your eyes open.  You may see nothing here but the common, everyday posts.  Or, you may see Eli’s story.  Told with all of the heart I feel for it right now.  And a small ticker along side it asking you to grant us whatever you feel appropriate, whatever you can afford.  It will all depend on the level of my guilt and my ability to actually achieve something with the insurance company or one of the grant programs that I applied to.

I thank you all in advance for whatever path we choose.  Your support throughout this process has been amazing.  I couldn’t ask for better friends.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comfort Zone

  1. Jaimee says:

    When I read about Eli, I feel almost like I am reading about my own son. You are an incredible mom to fight hard for therapy that will help him! Best wishes with your financial plan and I hope it is fruitful for you!!

  2. Why not? I think it’s a good idea.

  3. Debbi Henry says:

    I think this is a great idea and I will share it on my blog and with anyone else who will listen. You could also try putting an article in the paper, describing Eli, and why he needs this therapy. Even if you don’t get any donations from that, you could at least spread awareness!

  4. Elastamom says:

    I had to step out of my comfort zone to have my fundraiser for Olivia…at least yours would just be a one-time deal! That’s not too much to ask….what about a wine/cheese dinner where people donate? Try chipin.com too…easy to set up and use.

Leave a Reply

