I’m A Survivor

I am a fighter.

The very nature of my childhood taught me to hang on tight.  Taught me to roll with the punches.

I challenge the system.  Not to be contrary.  No.  Simply to change things for the better.

I am independent.

I learned early on to rely on myself to make the changes I wanted to see.

I have made good choices.  I have made choices that, for lack of any better term, sucked.

I don’t accept the answer no without reason behind it.  Even then, remember that I’m known to challenge the system.

Please don’t sit across from me and ask me to quiet my voice.

Please don’t ask me to stop standing up for what I believe in so that I stop making someone uncomfortable.

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”

 Margaret Mead 

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

 Reinhold Niebuhr

These quotes are guiding principles for me.

If I am fighting for something then please know it is a battle worth fighting.

I’m a survivor (what),
I’m not gonna give up (what),
I’m not gon’ stop (what),
I’m gonna work harder (what),
I’m a survivor (what),
I’m gonna make it (what),
I will survive (what),
Keep on survivin’ (what),
I’m a survivor (what),
I’m not gonna give up (what),
I’m not gon’ stop (what),
I’m gonna work harder (what),
I’m a survivor (what),
I’m gonna make it (what),
I will survive (what),
Keep on survivin’ (what).

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m A Survivor

  1. Kate says:

    I’m terrible about listening to any direction without a reason. Just because simply doesn’t cut it.

    But, my husband, he’s like you. He learned that someone has to stand up. To say no to those who are powerful and forget to be gentle.

    Dont quiet your voice.

  2. Tiffany says:

    You are indeed. That’s why I love you!

Leave a Reply

