A New Day into Another Year

Today I tuned 37.

Once upon a time, many many years ago, I thought I’d struggle.

40 was SOOOOO old after all.

But, here I am, more than officially on the downhill slide to 40.  It doesn’t scare me.  It doesn’t bother me.

Instead of focusing on how old I am I choose to focus on how blessed I am.

I have experienced 37 years of amazing.  37 years of horrible.  37 years of bliss.  37 years of life.

I have brought life into this world 4 times.  I have mourned the loss of 3 of those lives.

I’ve had an amazing family.  I’ve said goodbye to several of them, knowing I’ll see them again someday.  Knowing they’ll all be healthy and beautiful when I see them again.

I have the most amazing little boys.  They keep me happy, they keep me crazy.  They are some of the reasons I roll out of bed each day and start many of my days with a smile.

I have a fabulous partner in this life.  I’m fortunate to know true love and the honest give and take of a not always perfect relationship.

I enjoy my job.  I spend everyday getting paid to help infants and toddlers grow to their fullest potential.  And sometimes I’m fortunate enough to know them throughout their life so that I can continue to watch them grow and remember that I knew them when.  My job doesn’t pay well (contrary to our current governor’s belief) and the hours are sometimes long.  But, the true gratification of this work is seeing that little one roll, or eat, or walk, or speak for the very first time.  Watching someone so little do something so big that doctor’s said they would never do.  Children defy the odds that are laid against them.  We could learn so much from them in that respect.

I have a lovely home – a home we built from the ground up.  We decided on the light fixtures.  We chose the layout of the rooms.  We are the only ones ever to call these walls home.  Our backyard is filled with the sounds of playing children and the smells of something delicious from the grill.

This morning I woke up to start day one of my 38th year on this crazy planet.  I can honestly say that I have no regrets.  I have made mistakes and recognize that there will be more to come.  I have endured good and bad, happy and sad.  Everything in those first 37 years brought me to be the person I am today.

A birthday is just the first day of another 365-day journey around the sun.  Enjoy the trip.  ~Author Unknown

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A New Day into Another Year

  1. Elastamom says:

    I am so happy to have known you for 10 of those 37 years and I hope to know you for many, many, many more! I hope you had a perfect day.

  2. Kate says:

    Happy birthday!

  3. Patty says:

    Happy birthday! And thank you for sharing this post! I love that you are focused on your blessings. I turned 39 in December and had so many people make cracks about 40 being just around the corner. When people said that, I just said, “Yeah, isn’t it great? I’ll be 40 soon, and I am so blessed!” because I was sick of the negativity about age.

    As my dad always said, getting older sure beats the alternative!

  4. Debbi Henry says:

    I love this post Heather. I used to think that getting old was bad, but now I am so grateful for all the years I have been given. Like you said, all the years, experiences good and bad, all make us who we are today!

    Happy Birthday!!

  5. Happy birthday, ChaCha! I love your attitude!

Leave a Reply

