Always the Wrong Age

We’ve been focusing on what to do with the boys for the summer.  We like to have them involved in activities and we try to save Nana from having to watch them all day every day.

Last summer a friend’s teenage daughter watched the boys 2 days a week and they went to camp 1 day a week.  It was a lovely set up.

This year we were excited about a flyer that came home in Eli’s backpack.  It was for a 7 week summer camp that was 4 days a week at a really inexpensive cost.  I called this morning to enroll the boys.

Keegan is too young.  He can’t go.   Therefore, we’re back to the drawing board.

The woman on the other end of the phone was kind enough.  The rules state that the children must have completed 1 year of elementary school because of the activities that they will be doing for the summer.  Keegan has participated in all of the same activities Eli has but his age and lack of elementary school experience are keeping him out.

So I’ve sent a shout out to a couple of friends and have a couple of other ideas up my sleeve.  I’m hoping I can arrange something so that Nana gets a break and the boys still get a summer of fun.

I came home today to find 2 sad little boys.  It appears that the neighbor kids decided that the boys couldn’t play with them today because neither of them was in a “grade”.  Eli doesn’t miss a beat, though.  He promptly shared with them that they weren’t very smart because kindergarten is a grade and preschool is kind-of a grade!  But in the end they still weren’t allowed to play.

To make us all feel  better we spent our evening where the boys are accepted for the age that they are and are challenged for the skills they know.  We went to karate.

Their focus was amazing.  Their skills never cease to amaze me.  And, for a moment, all was well with the world.

Tonight I will rest easy knowing where they do fit in.  Tomorrow I will continue my hunt for a little summer fun for both of my boys.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Always the Wrong Age

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Planning for the summer is so hard! I’m trying to do that right now too, but nothing is working out.
    I love how you ended the day at karate, where the boys feel so good about themselves! Karate did wonderful things for us and we really miss it!

  2. Kate says:

    It’s tough being little. We forget how exclusive some of these clubs are, and camp age guidelines can be so frustrating. I’m sure you’ll find something grand for them this summer, something that celebrates where they are.

  3. Elastamom says:

    What older-kid meanies that wouldn’t let them play! They’re missing out. Here’s hoping you find a good solution for the summer. What about the JCC? Gabe and Matthew’s friends LOVE it!!

Leave a Reply

