My Mother’s Day

I opened my eyes at 7am and found a sweet little boys blue eyes staring back at me.  He’d be up off and on all night so at some wee small hour I just crawled into bed with him in the hopes of getting a little sleep.

He gave me a good morning hug and we shared a few giggles.  We worked our way downstairs to start our day.  My hazel eyed boy joined us shortly thereafter.

My honey came down a bit later looking somewhat worse for the wear.  She had a terrible sinus headache and two boys wound up for the morning were not helping.

Change in plans immediately.  No more thoughts of picnic at the park on the lake.  Instead, a quick bagel breakfast and a walk at the local botanical gardens  – just me and the boys.

We packed up the good camera and headed out, minus one mama.

It was a gorgeous day.  The sun was shining, the birds were chirping and the flowers were in full bloom.  The boys were up for a good walk and I was praying for a few good pictures.

This is what I got:

And even a few of these:

And when we arrived home we gained back the mama we lost.  And the day became everything all of our days are made of.

We had 2 amazing boys who couldn’t be in a car near each other.  Two boys who couldn’t play Legos together without fighting.  Two boys who LOVED being outside and playing together – the one place they could be together without completely killing each other.

It was a day like all others.  The days that make me a mommy.  The days that I would never give up.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms, moms to be and mother type figures out there.  You are all amazing!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Mother’s Day

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    It looks like you had a wonderful Mother’s Day! LOVE those photos!! I’m so glad the weather was wonderful. That made the day just perfect!

  2. I love the pics! Especially the sepia-colored one of the two of them. Happy Mother’s Day, Heather.

  3. akbutler says:

    Great pictures!! Happy Mother’s Day!!

  4. Elastamom says:

    The pictures are great!! I’m glad you had a good day…you both deserve it!

Leave a Reply

