Celebration?

How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours.  ~Wayne Dyer

I watched, with wonder, the special news report on ABC.  Osama Bin Laden is dead.

I wasn’t sure how to react when I heard the news.  The cameras panned to Ground Zero.  People would gather there to mourn said the announcers.  People would gather to celebrate.

September 11, 2001

I was at work.  It was a beautiful morning.  I was preparing for my Tuesday morning playgroup.  Families would be arriving at any time.  My honey calls to tell me a private jet had radar issues and hit the World Trade Center tower.  Families arrive for group and the buzz begins.  We end group early because families are so distraught.  Staff moves to the lounge to gather together around the TV.  There was no private jet.  Another flight hit the remaining tower, one hit the pentagon and one was headed to Cleveland.  We would later learn of the heroism that found that plane crash landing in a remote field in Pennsylvania.  We watched as the first tower fell.  Our hearts sunk for our loved ones.  Many of us ended our day early to go home.  No one I knew lost family in this vicious attack, but we all felt the pain.

As Bin Laden’s death was announced last night the wound was opened again for the friends and families of the thousands of people murdered that day.  The various broadcasters rejoiced in his death and noted a day of celebration.

I stopped.

Am I really supposed to celebrate the murder of another human being?

I do not deny that this man was evil in all aspects of the word.  It is my hope and prayer that the friends and families of the 9/11 victims have found peace and closure in the justice granted by Bin Laden’s death.

But celebrate???

The Vatican had this statement to make:

“This morning, following the killing of Osama Bin Laden, the Director of the Holy See Press Office, P. Federico Lombardi, issued the following statement to reporters:

Osama Bin Laden – as everyone knows – has had the gravest responsibility for spreading hatred and division among people, causing the deaths of countless people, and exploiting religion for this purpose.

Faced with the death of a man, a Christian never rejoices, but reflects on the serious responsibility of everyone before God and man, and hopes and pledges that every event is not an opportunity for a further growth of hatred, but of peace.”

Should we really dance in the streets and rejoice in the same ways Al Qaeda did as the twin towers came crashing down and the death toll was rising?  How does that make us any different?

I urge our nation, instead, to place their thoughts on the men and women still risking their lives in the Middle East.  Bin Laden’s death has not ended the war on terror and we have no idea the ripple effect that may occur because of his death.

My heart goes out to anyone who lost someone on 9/11/01.  I, in no way, mean to negate any feelings that you may have over this latest even.  I hope that you are finding peace and feeling justice.

Hatred breeds hatred.  There is enough hatred in this world.  It is my hope to try to spread a little love, a little good will.

I am proud to be an American.  I am honored to have the freedom granted me by so many amazing men and women in our armed forces.  I am humbled by anyone personally affected by the 9/11 tragedy.  I have hope for the future.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Celebration?

  1. Elastamom says:

    I agree Heather. I felt it strange that we were celebrating the death of another human being…even an evil one.

  2. Well said.

    “I have never wished a man dead, but I have read some obituaries with great pleasure.” ~Mark Twain

  3. Debbi Henry says:

    I agree with you too! While I am glad he is dead and will never be able to kill again, it was strange to see how it was celebrated. It has totally left me conflicted!

Leave a Reply

