Community

I spent a rather glorious day today in a remote location for a work retreat.  This event takes place once a year.  All of the organization gets together to rest, relax, reframe and get excited about change.

Ok, nobody ever really gets excited about change.  Today I was.

The message that was shared today was not really one of change.  It was more encouragement of what we are already doing.

There was a specific message today, however, that resonated within me.

Human beings have an innate need for social relationships.  We have a need for a community.

This message was specifically focused on anyone with a disability for the purpose of today’s speech.  However, this applies to so very much more.

Here in the grand blogosphere many of us have found that sense of community that we so very much crave.  In some cases it’s because we are looking for others who are living in our same situations.  In other cases we wander into unknown territory and find the greatest of friends based on snark, sensitivity and pure, raw truth.  We care about the people we log on to read every day.  Some of us find ways to make that relationship stronger by meeting in person whenever possible.

I came here in the beginning to update family and friends about our little world.  I ventured out a little and found some amazing people.  I found people who have children like Eli.  My job keeps me from participating a lot in support groups because I have worked with many of the families that find comfort there.  I would not want to make them uncomfortable.  But here I can share my story and read the stories of others.  I can remain anonymous or I can comment and make a bond that, in many cases, spans oceans.

As I pondered the words our keynote speaker gave today I took a moment in my mind to thank each of you.

I log on every evening to see how many of you were here, now many of you had something to say.  I log on to find this community I’ve found that feels so much like home.

So thank you to those who come here whenever you can to read about the lives that we lead.  Thank you to those who write for the rest of us to read – sharing your heart and soul in the hopes that someone will understand.

You are all amazing people and I am fortunate to know each of you.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Community

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    The same to you!! I am so grateful to have come to know you and your family. I didn’t expect this when I first started blogging, and I didn’t know just how much I would care about all of my friends I have met. I don’t know what I would do without our friendship and your constant support! We don’t live that far apart and we will meet someday!

  2. That is so true! I feel the same way.

    I suppose that means we’ll all have to blog forever, huh?

Leave a Reply

