It’s All In The Name

Both of my boys talked at young ages.  They come by it honestly, I must say.

Eli had sentences that were very easily understood by the time he was 15 months.  Keegan was slightly older and slightly less easily understood.

Keegan has always had the issue of replacing his “r” and “l” with a “w”.  Eli has always been Ewi to him.  Lollipop (his most favorite of candies) is Wowwipop.

You get the idea.

Recently I talked with a speech therapist friend about his speech.  He’s going into kindergarten in the fall and I know that his articulation should be more appropriate.  She gave me some things to practice with him.

We started working on the “l” recently.  It was simple repetition of him watching me say “la” and then trying to repeat it.

At first he was incredibly discouraged.  I let it go because I didn’t want him to get upset about something so trivial.  Besides, I wasn’t sure I was ready for him to pronounce things correctly yet!

But then, one day, he got it.  The “la” started to come a little easier.  He decided to turn this chore into a game.

The game was to challenge him.  To get him to say the “l” correctly in a word and then I would say the word incorrectly with a “w”.  It completely cracked him up to hear me say cwoud for cloud or swipper for slipper.

He’s been working hard day and night to achieve the ultimate challenge.  His brother’s name.

This weekend Keegan spent time working on really saying Eli.  It’s about the cutest thing.  He truly overemphasizes the “l” so that it comes out more like Ee Llli.

The first time he called his brother with the appropriate articulation I saw something I didn’t expect.  Eli was MAD.  He turned around to Keegan glaring.  “You don’t call me Eli – you call me Ewi!!!  Get it right!!!”

Guess I’m not the only one not ready for this little boy to grow up!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s All In The Name

  1. Elastamom says:

    Oh I love the way Keegan talks!!! I don’t want him to change either. I will be so sad when Matthew stops saying “f” for “th” and “nuse” instead of use. 😦

  2. Awww. That is just really cute. Miss M. lisps a little, so I think we have a future with a speech therapist, too.

  3. My daughter is in speech class at school. I didn’t think there was ANYthing wrong with how she said her “er” sounds but apparently they did. :/

  4. Debbi Henry says:

    That’s precious! Brotherly love at it’s finest!

Leave a Reply

